We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Amazing Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Amazing Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 night during the Presidential Inauguration of President Obama . After looking all over DC and not finding anything that we could afford (the prices were ridiculous), we ended up checking in Alexandria and we found this great Hotel.
The customer Service was great, the people at the front desk were nice and friendly. The room was clean and pretty big (Comparing with other hotels)
The pool was clean and super quiet.
The lobby has several chairs, couches, TV, pillows , it's really nice and cozy.
The breakfast (included in our room rate) was better than what we expected. The people working at the breakfast was ok. I think they could be more friendly but it was okey...
We parked the car the entire time and use the subway to go around.
Close to the subway, only few blocks away, nice neighborhood, lots of restaurants to choose.
Totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Since the hotel was packed. we ended up having the handicap room. It's bigger than the other one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    110
    41
    18
    16
See reviews for
57
76
17
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting our daughter and her family, who live in Old Town. The room was small but modern and clean. The refrigerator did not work, but we left a message with housekeeping, and it was fixed by the time we returned. There was a balcony, but the view was of the asphalt rooftop as the room was only on the second floor. There was some noise, because the room (214) was across from the ice machine and next to the elevators, but this did not disturb our sleep. The bathroom was a nice size, with plenty of counter space, but only one sink. The bed was comfortable and we loved the small-size soft pillows. The staff was courteous, but not overly helpful. No breakfast was included. The location was close to Old Town, but the driving directions were confusing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My friend and I just went on a four day excursion where we spent four nights in four different hotels in the DC/VA areas. By far this was our best experience. The hotel was clean, kept up, and very ncie for the price of a room. Furthermore, the location is so close to Kinge Street, which offers a huge variety of things to do, and within walking distance of a metro station to take you into DC. Mostly, I cannot say enough about the staff--extremely friendly and upbeat. We took the shuttle that runs from the hotel to the metro station, where the driver was nice enough to get out of the car and explain to us two clueless out-of-towners how to get a ticket and which trains to take to get where we wanted to go. Overall a wonderful experience, we would definitely return and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The customer service is great and friendly. The free breakfast has a lot of options from healthy to non and they serve Starbucks. The gym is a little small, but they have the essentials. The shuttle at times can run slow so you can walk to the metro station which has trains frequently for 10 to 15 minutes in heels or comfortable shoes. Dinner and lunch options aren't that great, but you walk by the metro station for food options. The metro ride into town is about 30 minutes so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very clean. Excellent breakfsst. Free parking. Friendly staff. Hard to find from i395. Make sure you have gps to find your way. Comfortable beds clean bathrooms. Room a bit noisy from the highway. Not much of a view.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are a number of expensive hotels in Alexandria where you can walk to restaurants and shopping, but this is not one of them. It is located adjacent to the expressway and a busy series of ramps and service roads. In short, this is not a walk-around hotel but a convenient business stop. The rates are lower than the more central hotels and there is FREE parking. My room was clean and comfortable, with windows overlooking the expressway - there was some sound of traffic but on the 5th floor it did not pose a distraction. WiFi was easy to access. There is a "bistro" short-order restaurant in the lobby, but otherwise you will need to drive to eat. If you drive north on Eisenhower you will pass a number of restaurants and if you take Eisenhower to the traffic circle, go 270 degrees to basically turn left onto Holland, then right on Duke, and then any left to take you 2 more blocks to King, where you will find restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have two windows overlooking traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a spacious suite at this property. We loved the room setup. We didn't have breakfast downstairs, but it seemed to be fairly standard. This location was easily accessible to the highway, stores and DC. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.