We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and inexpensive for business overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
charlottesville
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Convenient and inexpensive for business overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are a number of expensive hotels in Alexandria where you can walk to restaurants and shopping, but this is not one of them. It is located adjacent to the expressway and a busy series of ramps and service roads. In short, this is not a walk-around hotel but a convenient business stop. The rates are lower than the more central hotels and there is FREE parking. My room was clean and comfortable, with windows overlooking the expressway - there was some sound of traffic but on the 5th floor it did not pose a distraction. WiFi was easy to access. There is a "bistro" short-order restaurant in the lobby, but otherwise you will need to drive to eat. If you drive north on Eisenhower you will pass a number of restaurants and if you take Eisenhower to the traffic circle, go 270 degrees to basically turn left onto Holland, then right on Duke, and then any left to take you 2 more blocks to King, where you will find restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have two windows overlooking traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    113
    44
    19
    16
See reviews for
59
77
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a spacious suite at this property. We loved the room setup. We didn't have breakfast downstairs, but it seemed to be fairly standard. This location was easily accessible to the highway, stores and DC. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed one night here and really enjoyed our room. It was in perfect condition and had a beautiful view of the neighborhood. The hotel was a little tricky to find using our old GPS, but we eventually got there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was in town for 1 night for a funeral and needed to get some work done prior to the visitation. I was on the second floor - I could hear street noise, as well as people speaking very loudly in the hall all night.
I do not complain when on-site, but I would not recommend this to anyone.

The cafe staff did not understand their own menu or simple bar requests (standard mixed drink), flat bread on menu and they tried to give me pita chips (charged extra for what was on the menu) and drinks were more water.

No answer when calling the cafe either.

Front desk did call me a taxi, but that was a nightmare too. I requested a car service and received a Yellow Cab that was to take credit cards (I carry no or little cash). The driver complained. That he needed the $ for gas.......

The ride was going to Jefferson Funeral home was without tip $22 and he dropped me off in front making me walk across the grass which was wet from the rain. The ride back cost me $13 with tip! Clearly different drivers. Will use private serve in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in October. The rooms are simple and clean, but quite nice as the hotel has been recently updated.

There is not much in the immediate area but the metro stop is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Old Town is a 5 minute ride on the Metro and D.C. is about a 30 minute ride. The hotel also offers a shuttle to the metro for those who don’t want to walk there, but it really is only a 5 minute walk. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the D.C. area. Overall, it really is a great value for the money

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I have discovered you really can't go wrong with a Marriott family hotel. This hotel was great! Location, cleanliness, and wonderful staff!! They had a shuttle take you anywhere Eisenhower Ave which is full of shopping and restaurants but most importantly...to the metro. You had the price break of not quite being in "Old Town" but it was a short car or metro ride away. Bistro was tasty with a variety of choices. We had a corner "city view" room with lots of windows...great for a weekend getaway...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were meeting friends for a football game and stayed here for a weekend. The staff was very helpful and gave recommendations for nearby restaurants and let us know about a fantastic farmers market going on in town on Saturday. The room was very spacious, quiet and clean. Breakfast included was very good with lots of options. Good rates for weekend stays and we will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.