We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, simple hotel with easy access to D.C.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice, simple hotel with easy access to D.C.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in October. The rooms are simple and clean, but quite nice as the hotel has been recently updated.

There is not much in the immediate area but the metro stop is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Old Town is a 5 minute ride on the Metro and D.C. is about a 30 minute ride. The hotel also offers a shuttle to the metro for those who don’t want to walk there, but it really is only a 5 minute walk. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the D.C. area. Overall, it really is a great value for the money

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    105
    41
    18
    16
See reviews for
56
75
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I have discovered you really can't go wrong with a Marriott family hotel. This hotel was great! Location, cleanliness, and wonderful staff!! They had a shuttle take you anywhere Eisenhower Ave which is full of shopping and restaurants but most importantly...to the metro. You had the price break of not quite being in "Old Town" but it was a short car or metro ride away. Bistro was tasty with a variety of choices. We had a corner "city view" room with lots of windows...great for a weekend getaway...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were meeting friends for a football game and stayed here for a weekend. The staff was very helpful and gave recommendations for nearby restaurants and let us know about a fantastic farmers market going on in town on Saturday. The room was very spacious, quiet and clean. Breakfast included was very good with lots of options. Good rates for weekend stays and we will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAUNTON
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently stayed here along with some family members who were in town for my daughter's shower. The rooms were spacious and nicely equipped. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well. The check-in process was smooth and friendly. There is a nice lounge area in the "lobby" that is great for late night catching up. The best part of the stay? They have Starbucks! The location is not as convenient as I thought it would be from looking at the map, but I think they have a shuttle that will bring you in to town. We'll stay here again when ever we're in town visiting our daughter. It's quite pleasant!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed here when we were in town for the Marine Corps Marathon. We had a very spacious room at the end of the hallway which was clean and quiet. I found the front desk to be very helpful and although we did not use the shuttle, it seemed to be constantly picking up and dropping off guests.

Although the hotel is "off the beaten path", they have free parking so if you have a car it is easy to drive the short distance to old town or walk to the metro. This is a short walk over the bridge, we did it the day before the marathon and we keep our walking to a minimum the day before!

We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again! The only reason I give a rating of 4 is that our first day we were out the entire day and when we got back, our room had not been cleaned. We called for more towels and got them immediately.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We did have some trouble with rooms, they were already occupied but the third room was the charm. We got free breakfast for our troubles.
It was a nice stay, we met relatives in the comfortable lobby and just hung out and talked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I thought that the name Marriott meant quality but this hotel should not be allowed to use it. The front desk personnel are the most unfriendly and unprofessional I've ever encountered in my 38 years of traveling.The location of this hotel is far away from everything. It was very difficult to find and highway access is very difficult. There is a Metro station nearby (0.5 mile away) but there hotel shuttle service is poor. They have you call the hotel on our return but when we called nobody answered the hotel main number. We ended up walking the 0.5 mile back to the hotel is a damp mist. There is no free continental breakfast or coffee. The is a restaurant, "The Bistro," where you can purchase breakfast and the service was excellent. The prices for coffee and muffins were way out of line though. The maid service and the room cleanliness on our floor (5th) was excellent. The key cards became deactivated several times during our stay and the front desk staff seemed annoyed when they had to reprogram them. The elevator that serviced the parking garage smelled awful like something died in it. There were two airline boarding pass printing stations, one that was broken with a handwritten sign on it and the second one would not print. The low price of this hotel is what they have to do to suck people into coming here because once you try it you won't come back again. Don't be sucked in like we were.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. The highways are on one side and the train and Metro are on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.