We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great place for Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Awesome experience. The location is close to good restaurants, accessible to tourist locations. Rooms were spacious, good restaurant, onsite parking, very friendly staff and hotel is kid friendly!!

Would recommend to everyone, and will stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    114
    44
    19
    17
See reviews for
60
77
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Avert nice, safe area, I'm here with my wife, kids, my sitter, and her children, feel as safe as home. Staff A+, rooms A. Location B+. Only the TV does not have any international channels, that is a drag. Will defiantly come back next summer,,,,,,,,

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear SRJY -

We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! While we do have limited channels in our guest rooms, we have a full array of variety channels available in our Lobby and Bistro area. The televisions in these area's have a very expanded channel base and you can even have your own private booth with tv!

Please come down and enjoy an appetizer, cold beverage or dinner while you surf the channels!

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Bobby B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Excellent value- the prior reviews were quite accurate. The staff was more than accommadating-
The rooms were clean and well maitained.
Easy drive or shuttle to old town.
Perfect price for location - Safe area
Easy dc access
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Excellent overall value for the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Hello Gary B!

I wanted to take a moment and let you know that I have seen your comments regarding your shuttle experience at our hotel. I'm so sorry that you and your wife had to make the walk from the Metro station to the hotel. While its a short walk, I understand what a challenge it could be with your wife's condition.

We do have a final shuttle pickup time of 10:45 pm each night due to travel time, staffig and costs. However, we have to balance that with understanding our guest's needs and being as accomodating as possible. At the least, we should have called a taxi cab for you so that you did not have to walk.

We will be addressing issues like this at our next staff meeting to ensure our team understands the importance of each guest service opportunity.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and I hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area!

Bobby B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was our first time staying at this location. It was one of the best experiences we've had with Marriott. Barring the road contrustuction in the area, the location was exactly what we needed. It was central to everywhere that we had to go which included the entire DMV (DC, MD & VA). The Metro is just a short 5 minute walk over the bridge or they offer a shuttle. Access to Maryland via I-495 was only 5 minutes away and Tysons Corner, Herndon and Gainesville, VA were within 20-25 minutes of driving. The hotel room was nicely furnished and consistently cleaned at a high standard. The hotel restaurant and lounge were very nice, although slightly pricey. The staff was extremely helpful and remembered our name throughout our 10 day stay. The exercise room was our favorite, with just the right amount of equipment and the right type. The view while working out and the equipment with attached tv's is a nice touch too. Parking outside was a litlle limited, but they also offer garage parking, both free. The Wi-Fi actually had a good strong signal throughout the hotel. The hotel also offers guest laundry facilities which was extermely convenient for our length of stay.

The only drawbacks during our stay was the door handle to our room, which took several attempts to open each time and the lack of a pool on site. Less than two miles away on Eisenhower Ave. there is a waterpark and miniature golf course which is very nice for a family outing. Also, about a mile in the other direction there is the Hoffman Theater with multiple screens, several restaurants, Cold Stone Creamery and the Metro. The next exit down I-495 (Rte 1) offers all the restaurants and shopping that you can imagine in Olde Town Alexandria and access to the waterfront.

Overall great stay! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the corner. You get views from two sides, they're at the end of the hall and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Memorial Day weekend stay. Saturday night. Metro experiencing delays. Called for shuttle at 10:51 PM upon arrival at Eisenhower Avenue station.. Spoke to two Latino-sounding front desk staff (male & female). Refused to do pickup, explaining that shuttle ceased at 10:45 PM, six minutes earlier. Wife (with two replacement knees) and I did the walk,since no cabs were in sight at Metro. We walked around the shuttle van upon our entrance into lobby. Sigh.

The card that driver gives each shuttle passenger makes no mention of shuttle hours.

Staff Lesson: learn what hospitality really means

Room Tip: don't stay on the interstate side...noisy all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Location was not my first choice but turned out to be ok during the day in combination with the metro and walking or the free hotel shuttle. But for restaurants and shops you have to go into Old Town, which is about a 25 min walk or some combination of shuttle and 'trolley'. The hotel seemed understaffed, especially the front desk (often just 1 person, so there wasn't always an answer when calling for services). The bistro had very limited selection and hours, and the lobby/bistro area was not cleaned well. Breakfast stickiness and crumbs still there in the afternoon. My room was ok, but had that mildewy cheap hotel carpet smell, no matter how much the air conditioning was on. Cleaning staff came earlier than in most hotels. The one morning I could sleep a little longer, I could hear them knocking loudly on doors all the way down the hall at 8am. They also left my door open after cleaning (partly due to a bad latch which the desk had fixed right away) but a language barrier prevented them from understaning when I mentioned it. All in all it was the carpet stink and the lack of a clean lobby which were the most depressing items. Staff were friendly and doing their best.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times for business and pleasure. It has a beautiful lobby, is impeccably clean, and has terrific, friendly staff members. I like this hotel so much that I sometimes take their shuttle to the metro for business downtown just to stay there. Check out weekend room discounts for a great deal close to Old Town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.