We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the best experiences ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was our first time staying at this location. It was one of the best experiences we've had with Marriott. Barring the road contrustuction in the area, the location was exactly what we needed. It was central to everywhere that we had to go which included the entire DMV (DC, MD & VA). The Metro is just a short 5 minute walk over the bridge or they offer a shuttle. Access to Maryland via I-495 was only 5 minutes away and Tysons Corner, Herndon and Gainesville, VA were within 20-25 minutes of driving. The hotel room was nicely furnished and consistently cleaned at a high standard. The hotel restaurant and lounge were very nice, although slightly pricey. The staff was extremely helpful and remembered our name throughout our 10 day stay. The exercise room was our favorite, with just the right amount of equipment and the right type. The view while working out and the equipment with attached tv's is a nice touch too. Parking outside was a litlle limited, but they also offer garage parking, both free. The Wi-Fi actually had a good strong signal throughout the hotel. The hotel also offers guest laundry facilities which was extermely convenient for our length of stay.

The only drawbacks during our stay was the door handle to our room, which took several attempts to open each time and the lack of a pool on site. Less than two miles away on Eisenhower Ave. there is a waterpark and miniature golf course which is very nice for a family outing. Also, about a mile in the other direction there is the Hoffman Theater with multiple screens, several restaurants, Cold Stone Creamery and the Metro. The next exit down I-495 (Rte 1) offers all the restaurants and shopping that you can imagine in Olde Town Alexandria and access to the waterfront.

Overall great stay! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the corner. You get views from two sides, they're at the end of the hall and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    113
    44
    19
    16
See reviews for
59
77
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Memorial Day weekend stay. Saturday night. Metro experiencing delays. Called for shuttle at 10:51 PM upon arrival at Eisenhower Avenue station.. Spoke to two Latino-sounding front desk staff (male & female). Refused to do pickup, explaining that shuttle ceased at 10:45 PM, six minutes earlier. Wife (with two replacement knees) and I did the walk,since no cabs were in sight at Metro. We walked around the shuttle van upon our entrance into lobby. Sigh.

The card that driver gives each shuttle passenger makes no mention of shuttle hours.

Staff Lesson: learn what hospitality really means

Room Tip: don't stay on the interstate side...noisy all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Location was not my first choice but turned out to be ok during the day in combination with the metro and walking or the free hotel shuttle. But for restaurants and shops you have to go into Old Town, which is about a 25 min walk or some combination of shuttle and 'trolley'. The hotel seemed understaffed, especially the front desk (often just 1 person, so there wasn't always an answer when calling for services). The bistro had very limited selection and hours, and the lobby/bistro area was not cleaned well. Breakfast stickiness and crumbs still there in the afternoon. My room was ok, but had that mildewy cheap hotel carpet smell, no matter how much the air conditioning was on. Cleaning staff came earlier than in most hotels. The one morning I could sleep a little longer, I could hear them knocking loudly on doors all the way down the hall at 8am. They also left my door open after cleaning (partly due to a bad latch which the desk had fixed right away) but a language barrier prevented them from understaning when I mentioned it. All in all it was the carpet stink and the lack of a clean lobby which were the most depressing items. Staff were friendly and doing their best.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times for business and pleasure. It has a beautiful lobby, is impeccably clean, and has terrific, friendly staff members. I like this hotel so much that I sometimes take their shuttle to the metro for business downtown just to stay there. Check out weekend room discounts for a great deal close to Old Town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here. It was very quiet --- we heard no hall or street noises. The room seemed a bit smaller than most, but was very clean and quite sufficient. The personnel at the reception desk were very nice and helpful. The hotel is only about a 6 minute drive to Old Town Alexandria. We booked directly through the Marriott system, and the senior rate for our room was a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I really liked this hotel. It was very clean and the rooms felt very modern and new. The accessible bathroom had a roll-in shower that worked well. The staff were friendly and I like the choice of drinks and snacks they have in the little "bistro" in the lobby. The hotel is close to the subway and is just off I-95 and is centrally located near Old Town Alexandria. This hotel does a lot of things fairly well and is a great place if you have a car. It was reasonably priced and, despite being close to the beltway, was very quiet. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a relocation for my job. After having stayed in an extended stay, this was a pleasant change. If you are needing a long-term hotel stay while planning a move to DC, I would recommend it. It is also good for the DC vacationer as it is 2 blocks from the Eisenhower Ave metro stop that you can walk to. (over a pedestrain bridge and down the street). The hotel was modern in design like a W hotel, and it has all the amenities a courtyard has. The room was big, comfy bed, large bathroom. I will say 2 things that were rather challenging about this hotel (and I stayed in 3 different ones in 2 weeks). It is VERY confusing to get there with the help of a GPS because of how much construction is being done on 495/95 in that area. The hotel is on Eisenhower, do NOT let your GPS take you to Mill Road, you will be lost in a second. Second, the hotel curatins do not shut all the way and they let in a LOT of light in the morning and let the street lights in at night. There are no curtain clips for the person who needs darkness to sleep.!!! However, you are a 5 minute taxi or car ride from Old Town yet you do not have to deal with Old Town traffic and parking rates of other hotels. It is free here. However, spaces are cramped and there arent many of them. If you have a larger SUV, park behind the hotel to avoid dings in your door. I did not eat at the restaurant. There is a complimentary shuttle and a lot of people were using it to go to Reagan National airport. I booked this hotel on Priceline and got a good rate (not fantastic), but it saved me a little money. Room service WILL knock on your door at 8:30 am....put out your do not disturb sign until you leave the room. The front desk said they will service your room as late as 4 pm, so make sure you get the chance to sleep in. Tons of restaurants are within walking distance (right across from the metro stop).

Room Tip: If you are concerned about vehicle safety, ask for a room with a view of the parking lot. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.