We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel of I-95” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
southernsurprise
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel of I-95”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel is an affordable option to staying in Washington DC! The hotel is close to the Eisenhower metro stop, close to a movie theatre and resturants. It's located of Interstate 95 in Alexandria, VA. Got the room through Priceline for less than $100 a night. I did not eat at any hotel resturants, but the lobby had just been renovated and the resturant and bar area looked very nice. I would stay here again for buisness or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    123
    47
    19
    17
See reviews for
69
85
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed one night. Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
251 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Alexandria Tech Center for a week trip at the end of March for the Cherry Blossom Festival in Washington, DC. I had high expectations for Marriott and have been pleased with them in the past, so was a little disappointed with the hotel. So first, good things about this hotel. The price was very reasonable for the DC area during the Cherry Blossoms and had free parking, which ultimately made me choose this hotel. Also, its only about a five minute walk to the Eisenhower Ave. Metro station, so easy access to the city. The room were nice, the beds were comfortable, and the staff were friendly. However, I found the amenities to be a bit lacking. There was no free breakfast, just a Bistro with very over-priced food and drinks and slow service. No pool, just a very small fitness center with a couple treadmills and ellipticals. The hotel seemed more geared towards business guests (there was free WiFi and wired internet in the rooms), but still I expected a little more from Marriott. The free shuttle service to the Metro was never explained well and so it seemed easier to just make the five-minute walk. Then, a group of 30 middle-schoolers came. Luckily, I had requested a high-room floor, so we were on the 7th floor. We spoke to another guest who was on the third floor and apparently the kids were slamming doors and screaming all night. They also managed to break BOTH elevators - one disadvantage of staying on a high floor. Finally, the staff had to take us up and down on the service elevator. Anyway, we spent most of our time in the city, so we didn't let the hotel spoil our vacation, but if we come back to DC, I would probably not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a high floor to avoid rowdy kids and street/construction noise from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

right near DC. great pricing but did not like that since we were with a group, we did not have a group breakfast offered. very good service at the front desk and very attentive to your needs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was part of a bus tour visiting DC during the Cherry Blossom Festival. When we arrived, a bellman came out to unload the bus while the tour guide was distributing our room keys. The bellman used two passengers' duffle bags as wheel stops for his luggage cart. He then carelessly began throwing other suitcases onto the cart. At one point, he overshot the trolley and the suitcase rolled down the sidewalk. If the bellman treated our luggage in this manner while we were watching him, I can only imagine what he does when people aren't around.

After a long day of touring, we arrived at the hotel and decided to go to the hotel cafe for a bite of dinner. It was about 8:30pm and there was only one lady working at the cafe. She politely informed everyone that since she was working alone, there would be a slight wait for service. I felt sorry for her because she had to take the orders, tend the cash register and make the food. I admired her for her calmness under pressure even when the customer line began to get long. She even served food and took a customer her drink when the "lady" was too lazy to come to the counter to pick up her order. The employee should be commended for her exceptional work and professionalism.

Overall, the hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable. I would have given this hotel 4 stars if it had not been for the carelessness of the bellman. I would probably stay here again, but I would definitely make sure that I took care of my own luggage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Attended a conference at National Harbor across the river but by the time I came to book my hotels prices were sky high near the convention centre so stayed in Alexandria (much nicer spot) with its pleasant old town and quality restaurants. Room was really comfortable with excellent bed and plenty of space. Free wifi. Didn't eat here at all always in town. Good choice. Also handy for metro into DC which is a short walk away. Plenty of free parking (other hotels closer to centre of Alexandria charge USD20-30 per night so beware the add on costs. Will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed at eh Courtyard with a business partner. Reception was great, room large and comfortable. The breakfast was better then expected. Near "Old Town" area. Lot of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Marriott
Alexandria Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.