We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 North Breckinridge Place, Alexandria, VA 22312   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My mother and I stayed the night before the Inauguration. The front desk receptionist, Charmagne couldn't have been nicer! When we found that our TV was missing a remote, she made sure to come up and deliver one to us - despite the fact that she was also juggling a stream of excited customers. The "Grab & Go" breakfast was very convenient with plenty of quick selections like, muffins, oatmeal, oatmeal bars, coffee, etc. Perfect for eating on the go! The location was only a short taxi ride away from the metro that took us right into DC. The beds looked nice but, as far as the rest of the room, you could tell that it is an old hotel that has been renovated on a budget. Not brand spankin' new but, not horrible either.
My only gripes: #1 - Although I asked for a non-smoking room, the room had a heavy smokey smell (enough to be overpower my little travel bottle of Febreeze). Charmagne told us that although we were in a non-smoking room, they do not have a non-smoking floor so, the smell was coming through the vents. #2 - Burn marks on the sink and a red Kool-Aid stain on the carpet. If they cannot afford to replace the carpet, they should look into steam cleaning.

I probably wouldn't stay there again but, again, the people there are REALLY nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn768, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a positive review about our wonderful staff, Charmagne. This property is due for a renovation soon and we look forward to inviting you back once it is complete. Please look up some of our more recently renovated hotels and we do hope you will give us a chance again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    14
    3
    17
See reviews for
15
5
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a 2 week period as part of relocation. Convenient location with shopping and restaurants within walking distance and a mall across the road. The staff makes the difference and is very friendly and accommodating. Both Maryam and Sara make you feel right at home as if you are part of the family. Early morning coffee and fruits much appreciated.

Room Tip: The 17 rooms are a bit larger and have more closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn768, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review of our hotel. I'm very pleased to know that Sara & Maryam have gone above and beyond to make your stay memorable. Should you ever need a place to stay either right here at Extended Stay America - Landmark or in any one of our 700+ locations all across the USA & Canada please do not hesitate to reach out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I feel that the price is to high for a non renovated extended stay I have been to others with better quality rooms! But the location was a plus and the staff was friendly Dexter was hey helpful! Would repeat for something quick.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn768, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. Dexter and all the associates are happy to see our guest comments. As a matter of fact this hotel is in the final plans to get the renovation you mentioned in 2013. Thank you again and we hope to see you again at any of our locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I came up to the DC area a couple of weeks before I brought my family up due to a new job and decided to stay here for the price and it looked decent. First let me say that the staff was fantastic and very polite and the grab and go breakfast was great! However that is where the pleasantries ended. The was extremely dated and had a musty smell but turning the air on took care of it some. The laminate flooring in the kitchen area and bathroom had stains all over it. The carpet had burn marks and stains on it (quite a few) the chairs at the desk and table were old cheap worn out computer chairs with who know what stains on them. There were doing some renovations so they may be trying to write some wrongs I'll give them that. BUT, that does not excuse me finding a previous occupants full trashbag in the cabinets and AND A MOUSE RUNNING THROUGH THE ROOM!! I left the following day as that was my last straw and went to the Sheraton Suites in Old Town Alexandria for the remainder of my stay. Stay at your own risk,but there are better hotels for cheaper cost. period.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mn768, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. I know how committed we are to satisfying our guests, which is why it gave me great pleasure to read your kind words about our staff. Given this commitment, it was with great concern that I read the rest of your account. You have my most sincere apologies that your stay wasn't totally enjoyable.

Please understand that maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to making it available to our guests. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate in which specific areas we can improve. It seems we missed the previous guest trash in you room which is inexcusable and we will keep striving to keep it from happening again. We have contacted our pest control company and we are working on eliminating any pest that may be at the hotel.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is in a horrible area. Traffic was awful bottom floor was like government housing. Toilet seat had sponge job stickers on it to keep it from pinching ur behind elevator stunk prostitution was in the area also

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn768, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

I am eager to respond to your issue. Please know that we strive to provide our guests with a relaxing home away from home experience. We regret we had an incident which damaged the hotel and we are in the process of repairing the damage which is mainly on the first floor and also damaged our elevator. I am not sure what you are referring to the sponge stickers but I will be happy in investigate. We also strive to eliminate any illegal activity we discover at any hotel and act as soon as we become aware of any situation.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have come to this hotel many times and its at a very convenient location and the staff is really nice and helpful. But I must say my favorite of the staff is Maryam Mahmood hands down. She is kind and funny and always makes sure your stay is comfortable . She seems more like a friend than a staff member. As far as the rooms go they are very spacious you won't feel claustrophobic. But it would be nice if they had more pillows..but still the same anytime I come to northern va I will always stay at the extended stay landmark Alexandria . They treat you like family. It's a home away from home

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariam N, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I love this location! Maryam and Sara are awesome customer service and always make me feel comfortable during my stay!!! Will definitely repeat my visit. Breakfast and renovations are going well too !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariam N, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark

Address: 205 North Breckinridge Place, Alexandria, VA 22312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Extended Stay
Extended Stay Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.