We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Worked out for This Wheelchair-bound Traveler.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Room Worked out for This Wheelchair-bound Traveler.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My wife booked this hotel because it had a wheelchair accessible room with a roll-in shower (which I need). When we arrived, the receptionist informed us that the room had been booked in error, and that there was nothing that he could do. He then suggested that we look at another accessible room but without a roll-in shower. We did, and this room only had a shower bench. We decided to stay because we only booked the room for one night. When we told the reservationist, he was very gracious and, with management's approval, gave us the room for HALF Price!!! The room was big enough to get around, and they even had a worker set up an extended bench for the shower, which really assisted me. The room was very clean. They served a very nice breakfast and the staff was friendly. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    163
    60
    18
    16
See reviews for
190
104
24
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Dorset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We booked a two night stay here at 3 a.m. in the morning to arrive later that day whilst having a terrible night elsewhere, cutting our break there from 3 nights to 1. Our relief at finding somewhere to go at such short notice probably made us more impressed than we might have been but I can honestly say every member of staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel provided so much more than I expected. In particular:

suite-spacious, well equipped, comfy beds and good to have mini kitchen
breakfast-far better than I was expecting
shuttle buses-used this three times- twice to old Town Alexandria and once to get Metro into DC itself.
Old Town Alexandria itself- very nice area we would not have heard of had it not been for our stay at Hampton inn and Suites
Alicia on the front desk who was charming and extremely helpful
little shop supplying basic foods, snacks, toiletries etc

Whilst proximity to old Town Alexandria was a plus- the actual location is right alongside a very busy multi lane main road-but it is advertised primarily as an airport hotel so this should not be unexpected.

Room Tip: Ask to face the golf course rather than the road-no road noise and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This hotel was quick to get my family in and as all Hampton Inn's it's a safe clean place for my family to stay. The pool was excellent and the breakfast was a great value as I have a family of five. If I wasn't so tried when we arrived the Hotel offered free shuttle service to and from the local night life area which I have not seen before which was very impressive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We experienced great service, hotel was clean and near to highway. Our room was very clean but the beds were very hard. Overall we would probably return and try a different room in the hope to find a softer bed :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great location to National Harbor. Free shuttle service to the DC Metro made it very easy to go sight-seeing in DC without worrying about a car. Also, the free self-parking was an added plus to the stay. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel was super clean, super quiet and a great value. Plus you always receive a free breakfast at Hampton Inn. Even if it's just yogurt and toast with coffee, tea or juice - it's a nice perk of staying here.
We had nothing but praise for the staff that we came into contact with during our stay in August, 2014.
We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We rented a car and were able to go everywhere quickly from this location.
The air conditioning in our room worked fabulously so that made us Texans quite happy! We like to be cold at night!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - away from the elevators. Or a corner room on the side you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rib Lake, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My family arrived in DC and spent four nights. My parents arrived before me and were told there was no reservation in my name and they had no rooms available. My Mom had to call me at the airport to ask for the reservation number. They were then told, "oh, whoever entered the reservation entered the first and last name wrong." My parents then had to wait till well after 4 pm in the hotel lobby until a room was cleaned. They of course were not very happy after several hours of being on the road. Also, after one of our long days of sight seeing we had to stand in the hallway for 15 minutes because our room was just starting to be cleaned (after 4pm again). On the positive side, the hotel is beautiful, clean and the staff were friendly. They have a great shuttle service to the metro (but no longer to the airport which was the main reason I had picked this hotel). For two of our 4 days the 2 main elevators were "Out of Order." The stairs were not an option for both of my folks who have health issues. The only other option was the single elevator over by the breakfast. The wait was long as everyone was using this and this is a large hotel. The breakfasts were very good but frequently we had to ask for things to be filled (OJ, oatmeal, donuts, eggs). The workers were working hard but they are just understaffed. So all in all... very nice and clean hotel... but understaffed in all areas including front desk, breakfast area and maids/housekeepers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.