We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here for two days around the 4th of July. Location was great right off the highway and so close to Old Town, easy to drive to and no problems parking. Room was plenty big enough for our family of 5. Our room was directly outside the elevator, but never heard any noise in the hall. We used the shuttle to the metro and it was very efficient. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    185
    71
    23
    20
See reviews for
208
120
26
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

After traveling over 36 hours without rest, the Hampton Staff allowed us to check in early. The staff was awesome in taking care of all our requests. The maid service was excellent and always had a smile that brighten our day. Thanks Hampton for making our military move more enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nice room, clean and comfortable. Had a refrigerator and microwave. Was surprised by the different free breakfasts offered each day. Friendly staff, free shuttle to Old Town, Bobby was the best driver as he gave insight and answered all of our questions. Would have been five stars if the HBO and some of the other stations were working.

Room Tip: Wifi was free for one day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg SC, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Made sure the rooms were clean.I walk into a dirty room beds not made . Sent me to another room the key did not work and maint. came and tried to open but could not. I had to sit in the hallway with twim babies and my husband after driving 8 hours. So I was really fustrated. Ask for pillows for my room none were availalbe. I do business with you all thur my job as well in a corp. account. And I was more than dissatified with the service. Even though I was on vacation this time with my family paying for this was displeasing to me and my family.The only reason I would go back is that my stay at other hotels

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the 4th of July weekend while visiting our daughter who lives in DC. It was easily accessible to DC and a good value as far as DC hotels go. Standard Hampton Inn room & breakfast. The noise level and crowds in the lobby and parking lot at night were unwelcomed. Apparently, there was a very large family reunion utilizing the Hampton's pool and conference rooms for its festivities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very pleased with our stay. Totally enjoyable. From the front desk staff to the excellent condition of the room, everything was tip top. To round out the features, our breakfast certainly helped to start our day out on a full tank.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

There are only a couple things we need when we travel. Those things are (but are not limited to) clean rooms, comfortable beds, and a good shower. This hotel has all of them. The staff here is very accommodating as well. Everyone treated us like they were happy we were here. We enjoyed our stay. The location is good for a weekend jaunt in DC. Not too far from Huntington Metro station, 5 minute drive, and parking at the Metro is free on the weekends. That definitely is a plus. You can park and not bother with DC's awful traffic. The only downside we encountered here were lots of folks were gathered outside the hotel in the back blasting music and just being loud late at night. It was a little annoying. This happened both nights we stayed. We didn't make a big deal about it because we were so tired from sightseeing all day that nothing would keep us up anyway. However, I could see this being a problem under any other circumstances. I prefer a bit more security when I travel. Not that there was danger, but c'mon have security in your budget and keep the place calm and quiet, inside and out. This is a good hotel in a good location; I'm not certain we would return though.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.