We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nice room, clean and comfortable. Had a refrigerator and microwave. Was surprised by the different free breakfasts offered each day. Friendly staff, free shuttle to Old Town, Bobby was the best driver as he gave insight and answered all of our questions. Would have been five stars if the HBO and some of the other stations were working.

Room Tip: Wifi was free for one day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    209
    83
    28
    25
See reviews for
247
131
28
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg SC, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Made sure the rooms were clean.I walk into a dirty room beds not made . Sent me to another room the key did not work and maint. came and tried to open but could not. I had to sit in the hallway with twim babies and my husband after driving 8 hours. So I was really fustrated. Ask for pillows for my room none were availalbe. I do business with you all thur my job as well in a corp. account. And I was more than dissatified with the service. Even though I was on vacation this time with my family paying for this was displeasing to me and my family.The only reason I would go back is that my stay at other hotels

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the 4th of July weekend while visiting our daughter who lives in DC. It was easily accessible to DC and a good value as far as DC hotels go. Standard Hampton Inn room & breakfast. The noise level and crowds in the lobby and parking lot at night were unwelcomed. Apparently, there was a very large family reunion utilizing the Hampton's pool and conference rooms for its festivities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very pleased with our stay. Totally enjoyable. From the front desk staff to the excellent condition of the room, everything was tip top. To round out the features, our breakfast certainly helped to start our day out on a full tank.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

There are only a couple things we need when we travel. Those things are (but are not limited to) clean rooms, comfortable beds, and a good shower. This hotel has all of them. The staff here is very accommodating as well. Everyone treated us like they were happy we were here. We enjoyed our stay. The location is good for a weekend jaunt in DC. Not too far from Huntington Metro station, 5 minute drive, and parking at the Metro is free on the weekends. That definitely is a plus. You can park and not bother with DC's awful traffic. The only downside we encountered here were lots of folks were gathered outside the hotel in the back blasting music and just being loud late at night. It was a little annoying. This happened both nights we stayed. We didn't make a big deal about it because we were so tired from sightseeing all day that nothing would keep us up anyway. However, I could see this being a problem under any other circumstances. I prefer a bit more security when I travel. Not that there was danger, but c'mon have security in your budget and keep the place calm and quiet, inside and out. This is a good hotel in a good location; I'm not certain we would return though.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
420 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

As others have said, this property is convenient to Alexandria and DC. I have stayed several times in the past and return because it is a nice property and very consistent. The hotel is standard Hampton, although a little larger than most. This can make the front desk congested at times. The management should increase staffing during the day and evening. While the breakfast seating area is larger than most, it was crowded in the morning. The food was standard Hampton fare and the staff was trying their best to keep up with the crowd.

My room was clean and well maintained. A typical complaint with Hampton is the "low flow" showerheads that rarely have significant pressure. There is no water savings from showers that take much longer than normal. The AC was effective and relatively quiet.

I'll continue to use this hotel when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley,PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here for a few days visiting DC, had a real nice time. Easy access off the highway. Suite was very roomy and comfortable. Breakfast was convenient - hhad usual Hampton-type options. Breakfast was busy each morning but plenty of seating and staff kept things well stocked. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly throughout (front desk, shuttle, housekeeping etc) Location convenient - took shuttle to Metro station and hopped on Metro train into the city for sightseeing each day so didnt have to worry about traffic and parking in the city. Called when got back that night and van was there to pick us up within 10-15 minutes. Has an outdoor pool but didnt get to experience because we were too tired from walking throughout DC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#8 of 50 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.