We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXPERIENCE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Wiston Salem NC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel room was very clean, I found the shuttle service very helpful especially as a first timer in the city. The complimentary breakfast was rich compared to other hotels with complementary breakfast I had stayed in the past. The hotel staff were ever ready to help, especially finding my way round the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    149
    50
    15
    13
See reviews for
161
90
22
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

At check in, the girl used her personal phone and answered the hotel phone several times without excusing herself. Never gave me any real acknowledgment that I was there. Just like a bean counter. Nothing personal or friendly like other Hilton locations I stay at. Booked a King room and had my confirmation info on my phone (email), but got a room with 2 Dbl beds. Manager was of no help and offered no apologies for the room. Just blamed other people for the problem and offered no solution. basically told me to take the room they had or I could leave....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry about your experience at the front desk. I can assure you that it is not standard to find someone at our hotel who isn’t helpful. We strive to ensure our front desk agents and other team members know how much we value your business. I apologize for all of the issues you encountered. If there is anything I can do for you, please don't hesitate to let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our recent 4 night stay was beyond pleasant. The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating, the breakfast fare was way beyond a simple donut and coffee, the room was spacious and lovely. I recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This Hampton Inn is misrepresented in their advertisement, the place is a dump, it's not any better than a Motel six of the 1980's. While the management, and their advertisement, claims to have smoking and non-smoking rooms, they all smell the same. In fact as soon as your step out of the taxi at their curb, the smell of cigarettes is unbelievable. That day, the garbage and ashtrays right outside their front door, were overflowing with trash, cigarettes and liquor bottles. I will never stay at another Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of your experience with your guest room. At our property, we often utilize guest reviews to help us improve our hotel operations. We’ve reviewed your feedback with our hotel team. We are currently completing a renovation project in our standard rooms with all new carpeting, furniture, heating and a/c units as well as upgrading our beds to 2 queen size beds. We appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

No hot water in morning for shower. Staff said that large number of students had used all of hot water. Property should have been designed and built to handle full house. Staff seemed not to be very interested in solving problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Hampton Inns has great location near Washington DC and highway system and shuttle bus service to airport, metro station and downtown Alexandria. Clean, comfortable, quiet rooms with refrigerators and a nice complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had planned for a one night stay at this hotel and had to extend by one more night at the last moment. The front desk staff were very helpful in finding a room to accomodate 6 (5 adults + 1 child) of us! We were glad that she was able to find a better deal and ensured everything was taken care. This hotel is pretty close (about 10-15 miles) from DC area which was an added bonus for us. Overall, thanks to this hotel, we had a wonderful short trip to DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly added 57 studio suite addition to the existing 156 guest rooms. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.