We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had planned for a one night stay at this hotel and had to extend by one more night at the last moment. The front desk staff were very helpful in finding a room to accomodate 6 (5 adults + 1 child) of us! We were glad that she was able to find a better deal and ensured everything was taken care. This hotel is pretty close (about 10-15 miles) from DC area which was an added bonus for us. Overall, thanks to this hotel, we had a wonderful short trip to DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    158
    56
    18
    15
See reviews for
183
99
23
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

For the price I suppose it was okay. The shuttle was nice to have to the metro station and old town. The bed were uncomfortable and our room smelled like paint. They are renovating which made the stay a little bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel has just been remodeled and is clean, quiet, comfortable. It has all the amenities one usually gets with this chain, including free parking (a plus for this area), great breakfast, pool, fitness center, excellent wi-fi, and a very pleasant and helpful staff. It is located just off the I-495 Capital Beltway, and just to the south of the Old Town of Alexandria with its abundance of boutique shopping and restaurants. The hotel provides free, 24 hr shuttle service to the heart of Old Town as well as the nearby metro stop, and the airport. There is no wait, no charge, and the drivers are NICE. And, when you are ready to be picked up after a day of shopping in Old Town, you just call the hotel and the van is there in 10 minutes! You can't beat the service. And the room rates are quite reasonable. We stayed here over Thanksgiving at less than $95/nite. Will definitely make this our go-to hotel for DC visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed one night at this location as we were passing through the area. We had a King Room which was very clean and comfortable. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The staff at the desk was very helpful with any questions we had. They informed us of the free shuttle service to Old town and metro station which we did not use. The breakfast was more than expected. The hotel is very convenient to highways. Restaurants within a short driving distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We recently vacationed in the DC area. This hotel is nestled in the old town area of Virginia, but is a very short drive to DC. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport and to and from the metro station (Huntingon station) which is less than a 5 minute drive. The hot breakfast is great as well as the staff. And if you are on the go, the staff packs a light sack breakfast to take for the road. Shuttle also drops off and picks up at the old town area strip. I would gladly stay here again! And highly recommend this hotel and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I would have rated this property 5 stars except for the staff, who were a little bit less than stellar. Every time we had a question, whether by phone or in person, the staff member we spoke to acted confused and somewhat unhelpful. However, they were essentially pleasant and willing (if not eager) to try to be helpful. Our room rate was very reasonable ($150/night for 2 queen beds and a sofabed).

There are some really nice aspects to this hotel. Although it's definitely suitable for business travel, it's also comfortable for families and leisure travelers. The nightstands next to the beds are equipped with convenient charging plates (four A/C outlets and at least two USB outlets), so you don't have to go skulking about the room looking for an outlet. Beds were clean and comfortable, although the sofabed in our suite was lumpy and the mattress extremely thin (we had 3 people, so one slept in the pullout - luckily, she's the type who gets into bed and barely moves, so no tossing and turning). The flatscreen TV is nice and large with good reception, a decent array of channels, and mounted on a swivel so it can be turned a full 180 degrees, and can be viewed anywhere from the sitting area to the bed(s).

Breakfast was terrific, and a big step upward from my last experience at the Hampton Inn in Florissant, MO. Granted, that experience was many years ago, but "breakfast" at that place was basically toast and weak coffee. Breakfast in Alexandria included sausages and scrambled eggs (one caveat - the scrambled eggs are made in those weird gumball shapes. Lord knows how they get them that way). There's something for everybody - fruit, yogurt, DIY waffles (point: the DIY waffle iron SAYS to please close it, so if you use it CLOSE it when you're done!), an assortment of breads and very good muffins, and probably more that I didn't see. The breakfast area is basically nice and clean, although when it's busy it can be difficult to navigate thru the tables and the breakfast line.

The workout room was well-equipped for its size (rather small). The business center when I visited had some difficulties with internet connection, and although someone was dispatched to fix it, it was never fixed. The wifi in the guest rooms, however, was very good (I just needed a faster computer to upload files and email them - my netbook was too slow for this, and I never actually got to finish my work there). The pool is outdoors, so was closed when we visited

Although the property appears to be entirely nonsmoking (I could be wrong about this), I distinctly smelled cigarette smoke on my floor. I never addressed it with the front desk staff because I wasn't around that long, so don't know how they would have handled it. The hotel was doing some sort of renovation and on several floors there was construction debris and broken items strewn about near the elevators and the ice/vending machines. This was something of a turnoff - plus, the construction materials smelled like turpentine and other chemicals.

The upshot is that the very good aspects of this hotel did more than balance out the questionable/not so good things. They have a shuttle service that some in my family used and liked quite well. All in all, it was a pleasant stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is located south of DC, across from the national harbor and along the river. It is reasonablely priced. Near affordable places to eat. Short drive to Mount Vernon. Very nice staff. They have a shuttle which will get you to the Metro system so you can get to anywhere in the city. The Breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.