We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great DC Area hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Alexandria, United States
1 review
“Great DC Area hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is located south of DC, across from the national harbor and along the river. It is reasonablely priced. Near affordable places to eat. Short drive to Mount Vernon. Very nice staff. They have a shuttle which will get you to the Metro system so you can get to anywhere in the city. The Breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    167
    64
    19
    17
See reviews for
193
112
25
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The reasons why I am rating this hotel 4 out of 5 include: shuttle service between the hotel and Reagan National Airport, Old Town, and the Huntington Metro Station; breakfast (in house and to go); clean room; microwave; and refrigerator; and quiet. There is no restaurant at this location, but there is a variety of delivery options. The reasons why I am not rating this hotel 5 out of 5 include: our room was not made up when we returned at 4:30 p.m. on our second day (Sunday) so we had to wait for 30 minutes (not good); nothing was done about an issue with the shower rod/curtain that we reported; and we did not receive our 4:30 a.m. wake-up call, even though the front desk staff showed us where it had been written down. Luckily our backup alarms worked so we didn't miss our early flight. The manager was a bit intense. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's hard to call a hotel that costs just under $200 a night with taxes a budget hotel, but this one is in the environment in which it is located. And, it's worth every penny. Great service, tasty cookies at night, and a better-than-average breakfast in the mornings. We were there during the U.S. House of Representatives shutdown of the government, and I particularly appreciated the hotel's listing of what was open (and advice on how to get there). The shuttle to National Airport, Old Town Alexandria, and to the Huntington METRO station was helpful. I've been fond of Hampton Inn as a brand for years, and this one did not disappoint. Only downside is that timewise it's a long drive into the District, despite the short distance in actual miles. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: The higher the better ... No room service (I touched the button and it won't let me erase it.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I recently stayed here as a chaperon for an athletic trip. We had a bad experience nearby on this trip last year AT A DIFFERENT HOTEL, and I was apprehensive about booking a room this year.
WE WILL STAY HERE AGAIN! The group sales department was nice to work with. They had our keys arranged for us, and it was probably the fastest check-in I've ever experienced. It has easy access and shuttle service to Alexandria without paying the "right-there" price. We went for a Redskins game, and while the hotel was almost full - it was very quiet. No road noise, yet 2 second access to the interstate. It was a great breakfast. We needed rehearsal space (last minute request) and they easily accommodated us.
Stay here for any DC visit!

Room Tip: While we didn't experience a "front room" I would advise asking for one in the back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I am usually quite happy with Hampton inn suites and this was no different. The location is good for the Washington area and quick access to motorways etc. About 5 minutes by shuttle to Old Town Alexandria which I can highly recommend.

Rooms are big with a small kitchenette type facilities if you need them and a good office space with reliable Internet. Breakfast has some cold and hot choices and for me it was fine for 4 days.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Other than the remodeling that was being finished this hotel was a great experience. My wife and I travel quite a bit and the staff at this Hampton ranks in the top 3 of any hotel we have stayed at. The front desk staff was awesome and treated us with the utmost respect. We are actually treated like "customers" - something that seems lost in today's world. To compare this - after being at this hotel for three days of vacation we moved to the Washington Court hotel for a conference. We would have GLADLY gone back to the Hampton, the difference in customer service was light years apart even though the WC was priced at twice as much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This Hampton Inn is a great choice for people like me who are visiting Washington DC but don't want to spend a ton of money on a hotel. This hotel was very clean, the staff was excellent, the room was clean and well-maintained, and the breakfast was excellent. The only negative was that the A/C unit was very loud.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.