We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, inconvienent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Placerville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great property, inconvienent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a great hotel at a great price is you have your own car while visiting DC. If you do not and plan on using metro or cabs this is a ways out for walking to eat (one location only, closes early), Metro is too far to walk also. And they have shuttle busses, but you might have to wait. If you have your own car you are fine - parking is free and access is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Most of our guests take advantage of the free shuttle and there may be a wait if the van is in another location, but it is usually not very long. The free parking on site does make it easier if our guests have their own transportation. Stop back in when you visit Alexandria again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    131
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
143
76
21
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were looking for a place near our daughter in Alexandria and this was the perfect solution. Close to her condo and right off the highway. Couldn't have picked a better place. We were on the seventh floor overlooking the golf course, so the view was great and the elevators were quick and always available. Free parking was also a big plus in a city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My son stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago with his Boy Scout troop. He misplaced a wet-bag with some important items it. We learned of this after he returned home 2 weeks later. Contacted the hotel and the Executive Housekeeper responded promptly. She had located the bag and the hotel priority mailed it at their expense to us.
The attitude of the staff, especially the Executive Housekeeper, was exemplary. We are very pleased with how a mistake was handled and will continue to stay at Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We got a room with 2 Queen beds and a pull out sofa. It was perfect for my family of 5. It was clean and comfortable with plenty of space. However, we arrived close to 5pm and our reserved room was not ready. The girl at the front desk was trying to tell me that I reserved a room with only one queen bed until I found my papers to prove otherwise. After waiting for at least a half hour we were told that our room was ready. (There was another family waiting in the lobby for their room also.) The breakfast was nice with plenty of space and a nice variety for a continental breakfast. We used the shuttle service to the airport and back to the hotel after our trip and that went smoothly although it did take about 1/2 hr for them to pick us up. Just something to keep in mind if you use this service. That didn't really bother us though. Overall it was a nice place to stay for one night. If our room had been ready and/or the front desk attendant had been friendlier it would have been much better!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went to DC in March 2013, hotel is typical of the Hampton Brand. Nice, clean rooms, excellent breakfast. Wonderful customer service. However I want to note that the hotel is not in what most tourist consider Old Town Alexandria. You have to take the expressway to cross a body of water (not sure which) to get to Old Town Alexandria shops and restaurants. You are not able to get to the shops by walking, have to take shuttle or car. That said it is a bargain and very close to DC. Parking is free and for those who are driving that is a must. The hotel is surrounded by a golf course and water so it is an isolated area very quiet and peaceful. Stayed 3 days and enjoyed them all!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. Uneventful. Clean rooms although A/C dated and a little noisy. Typical Hampton Inn style breakfast. If you have a car it is so convenient to have free parking. We used the shuttle twice and we did not have to wait long. Metro can add up if you plan to travel in to to DC every day. Metro is priced depending on how far you travel and what time of day you travel. Peak hours will cost more. It adds up fast! There is no place to eat within walking distance of the hotel. Staff was friendly. Free coffee/hot chocolate in the lobby. Overall good stay.

Room Tip: Large property with lots of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you want to see Washington D.C. without having to pay the earth for staying in the city. They will shuttle you for free to the metro and you have a 20 minute ride to the tourist area downtown. They will also shuttle you to old town Alexandria where there are many restaurants to eat locally. We did not have to wait longer than 10 minutes for the shuttle to pick us up. It is a typical Hampton Inn. The rooms are clean and they provide a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly added 57 studio suite addition to the existing 156 guest rooms. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.