We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value- with a coupon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great value- with a coupon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a coupon that brought price for a night down to 89 USD. Nothing to reproach- service good, rooms well equipped, comfortable and quiet night's sleep. Breakfast was a tad bland, though the selection was reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    167
    64
    19
    17
See reviews for
193
112
25
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

First visit to Washington and was concerned about staying in Alexandria and having to rely on shuttle services. Hampton Inns are my favorite place to stay and this motel more than confirmed my choice. Fast and friendly checkin and checkout service. Shuttle service to and from the Metro and Old Town was convenient and timely. Breakfast provided many options, food was hot and tasty. First class experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincincinnati, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel is very conveniently located. Clean rooms. Nice breakfast area and delicious fruit served at breakfast when I stayed there in November of last year and recently in April 2013. Very helpful staff. We were given shuttle rides to Alexandria and the staff answered all of our questions. Safe area. Great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

It is a very nice property, i enjoyed my stay here. I stayed for 2 nights and everything was great. Front desk - friendly and helpful, breakfast ladies- they were on top of everything both mornings! My room was clean, i was even able to check in early at 11am which was great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The service at this hotel is the best I've experienced. The front desk staff went out of their way to make our stay wonderful, and the shuttle service is extremely convenient. We stayed in a suite, and the pullout couch was so uncomfortable it was unusable, but when we asked for a rollaway bed it was brought up immediately. The maintenance staff even fixed our daughter's broken toy, which helped to make our trip MUCH more pleasant. We would definitely stay here again, although it would be nice if towel holders were installed near the sink so there was a place to hang wet towels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is extremely convenient to the interstates and close to Reagan airport. The rooms were comfortable but the pillows were softer than what I like (minor detail). A few casual restaurants close by, but only one buffet type place within walking distance. Staff were very friendly and helpful with directions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel staff was amazing, they let me check in early, and check out late .They were very kind and helpful at all times. Breakfast and good quality internet connection are complementary.
The location is not near any town center, however on-demand shuttle rides to old town Alexandria, and to the metro station completely cancel this drawback. There's also an airport shuttle.

The real drawback was very bad smell in the hallway. I was in the 7th floor, and although I was in a smoke-free room, and the room smelled fine, every time I entered or left the room I had to go through a hallway that stinked of cigarettes.
This is a shame, as it left a bit of bad taste from an otherwise excellent stay.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room in a floor that has no smoking rooms at all, maybe the hallway will not sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review on your recent stay with us. I have passed along your comments to our housekeeping staff in order to correct this issue. Please visit with us again when your travels bring you back to the Alexandria area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.