We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FREE Shuttle to Metro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“FREE Shuttle to Metro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel was clean, with a good, hot breakfast and nice, large hotel rooms. Each room has a mini-fridge, and microwave - which is great for travelling with kids since you can always keep snacks on hand, and keep water bottles cold for the long day ahead. But the best part, by far, was the free shuttle service to the local Metro. We would simply alert the front desk that we were ready to go and within minutes, a friendly driver brought us to the Huntington Metro stop and very shortly, we were in the heart of DC. We always grabbed a to-go breakfast bag of apple, water, granola bar, and muffin on our way out too! On the way back, when we were one stop away, we would call the hotel and by the time we walked outside, the shuttle was outside waiting for us. Download the iTrans DC app for a Metro map and it will tell you exactly what stop to get off for whatever you wish to see. The hotel isn't in a scenic location (its right on a major road), but for convenience into DC, its worth more than a view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course, so you aren't dealing with the noise of a major roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    190
    75
    25
    23
See reviews for
211
127
26
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Although it was not hotel's fault, room next to us was so noisy. Front desk handled the issue well and they made them quiet immediately. Overall, our stay was very pleasant. One disappointing thing was that they could not provide us extra duvet for the pull out sofa. There are four people staying in the room including two young kids.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I chose this hotel because I was able to get the best price through AAA. This location is convenient to attractions located in the Washington D.C. and Virgina area. I used a GPS to get to the hotel and it didn't exactly coincide with the actual traffic pattern and street name but once you see it you will probably ignore it on the last few blocks. The hotel is very clean and well kept and the hotel staff were polite and courteous. There is a large lobby where you can sit and wait as well as a large dining area for breakfast. I found the room to be clean and comfortable, however, I thought it was unusual they used a bathtub stopper in the sink. I found the toilet to be too close to the wall which should have been a little further away. I think the room was pretty well insulated because I didn't have to turn the heater on during the night. The room had a cooling fridge for drinks, television, microwave oven and free wi-fi. The wi-fi would occasionally disconnect and you end up having to re-enter the agreement which becomes an inconvenience. The hotel has three elevators available, two to the left of the lobby and one to the right in the dining area. We tend to use the single side which brings you down to the dining area and it seems to be quicker. The breakfast is a combination of continental and hot breakfast which I find it to be sufficient in variety. There are no restaurants that are walking distance and you will have to drive or ask the hotel desk for recommended restaurants that deliver. There is a swimming pool but it was located outdoors and it was closed during our stay at the time. The parking lot does get very crowded if they have a function in the conference rooms. I would definitely stay in this hotel if I were visiting this area in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Typical Hampton Inn. The staff was courteous. Rooms were modernized and always love the duvets versus bedspreads. Breakfast room was always crowded. The staff always kept all the food/beverages stocked. The only negative comment I have is that there is no one wiping down tables in between guests having breakfast. Therefore, I would take a napkin and wet with hot water from the tea service and wipe down the sticky syrup from previous guest before i sat down to eat. I definitely would stay here again though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel went far above our expectations! The staff was friendly, the hotel was very clean and modern and the complimentary breakfast buffet had anything you could possibly want! The hotel shuttle service was prompt and the front desk staff was helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbert, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed March 1st for two nights....weekend rate received, I believe. Great location for visiting the overall area with the help of the front desk, shuttle, and the Metro to avoid parking issues and getting around. Everything was just splendid, the room, internet, breakfast, bathroom facilities, and especially the people!....both the front desk personnel and Mr. Robertson, the shuttle driver. I'd definitely return if I was going to stay in the area for a brief time. Excellent value for me!

Room Tip: Yes, back side of hotel may be more quiet than front, I agree. Stayed on the 5th floor facing Richm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel. We strive to make all of our guests happy and comfortable and feedback from our guests helps us in working towards our goals. I will forward your comments to the rest of the staff and please stay with us again when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Disgusting hotel. Non-smoking floor hallway smells like cigarettes. Non-smoking room sheets smell like a smoker just left. Hotel is not kept up well at all. Would never stay here again. Very bad experience overall. Only nice thing was easy shuttle ride over to Metro station.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenient smell during your stay and we are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Again we apologize for the inconveniences and we want you to know that we will make the necessary corrections. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.