We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Upstate New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family stayed there for 3 nights. The first room was noisy and they promptly changed us to a much quieter room. We were pleased with the room. Had some problems with plumbing which they compensated us for. We stayed on a higher floor and didn't have any problems with the heater. The dining room area was nice and large. Plenty of space for the kids to enjoy being out of the room. The location is good for traveling to DC. Free parking was a nice feature not offered at many other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the golf course side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. I am glad that thew few encounters you experienced were handled quickly and to your satisfaction. Please stay with us again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    155
    54
    18
    14
See reviews for
175
95
23
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft lauderdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Hampton Inn for 5 nights in July 2012. It was a long anticipated vacation. We have traveled the USA extensively for years and have always stayed at Hampton Inns. We would pass other hotels just to get to a Hampton Inn. Our stays have always been pleasant. Unfortunately at this Hampton Inn....5821 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, Va. our laptop computer was stolen from our room while we were in Washington. The room was not broken into, but was entered by the cleaning staff to clean and one of their follow up supervisor. Upon reporting the theft to staff we were told they have never had a theft at the hotel before. Some staff came to the room searched and questioned my wife about the incident. We finally got to see the General Manager after trying to see her for about 2 days since no one else seemed to care about solving the matter. Her behavior was un-apologetic and rude. She said they had never had a theft there before, were we sure we had left the computer there, and why did we not take the computer into town. We were treated as though we were trying to defraud the hotel by reporting an incident that did not happen. Therefore, we were forced to call in the police and made a report of the crime. We also called the office for Guest Assistance for Hampton Inns and reported the matter. At a later date we checked with the office for Guest Assistance to hear how they were going to resolve the matter and was told by a rude representative there would be no compensation for the stolen computer. For 2 nights at the hotel we did not sleep due to a noisy A/c unit even after reporting it and a repair man was said to have come in and repaired it. One staff member at the front desk was apologetic to us regarding the theft of our property and the noisy A/c unit. The staff for the shuttle to and from the train station was quite nice. The General Manager and others we spoke to treated us as though we were thieves and liers. With our computer stolen with all my wife's important information and the treatment we received by the hotel management our vacation was ruined. We returned home very hurt and very, very disappointed in this particular Hampton Inn and the Guest Assistance Office . The management of the hotel need a shake up or a ship out!. As for us, we will never stay at another Hampton again or recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: Always take some time to check out Guest's experience at hotels you plan to stay before booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

First was that we arrived at a little after 3 to find that our room wasn't ready, the manager called and asked a woman in another language when the room was going to be ready and the woman answered "20 minutes" she said to me in English, "It'll be 10 minutes." She then went home and didn't note or tell the night manager coming in that my family of four was waiting to go to our room. We drove about 7.5 hours and were stuck waiting in the hallway for 1/2 hr. We got no apology. The night manager said, "well she had to go out right away to her next job." So finally we get to the room and the heater sounds like a truck. The maintenance man had to come 3 times and finally had to replace the whole heater. Again no apology. Breakfast was kind of unreal with the egglike substance they served. The final straw was that as we were ready to leave-check out time 11:00- at 10:40 they had the nerve to call and ask if housekeeping could get in the room. I guess they didn't do that to the previous guests or else our room would have been ready. I asked to be compensated for that first night because of the inconveniences of the heater and the waiting and was told to talk to yet another manager the next day who when my husband went to talk to her had no notes or information either. It's weird that they all have tags that say manager on them but they can't manage to help.

Room Tip: Check the heater or a/c when you first get to your room for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service; this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed these issues with our staff and if you would please contact me directly the next time you are in the area, we would love to have you come back and experience an improved level of customer service. Thank you once again for your comments and I look forward to your call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel was very clean from the Lobby area to the rooms. The breakfast was good there was plenty to chose from. They offered a free shuttle to the King Street Metro. We did not take this we were there on the weekend and found that the parking at the metro stations is free on the weekends so we drove to the metro station. If you are going on a weekend I recommend skipping the metro and driving in to DC. We found ample parking on the street in the National Mall area as well as up by the Capitol. If you do not want to park on the street we found a couple of lots that had $13 parking for the day. It cost us $26 round trip for the metro for 3 persons.. do the math., live and learn. There are a few fast food places close but nothing fancy. My only minor complaint is that the matresses were extremely hard but this did not amtter after a long day of site seeing in DC. All in all for 89 a night I was pleased.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review on your stay with us. The comments on the public space is very much appreciated since we recently finished our lobby renovation. The information you shared on the parking in DC on the weekends will be helpful to future weekend guests. Please think of us when you return to the Washington, DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

While the location was a bit away from downtown Washington, that is easily overcome. The hotel provides shuttle service to the closest Metro station. If you want to drive, there is a hwy and fwy very close, however, some folks mentioned the noise from them, we never heard any noise from those road, however, our room was facing the golf course. If you aren't going into DC, Crystal City and and Pentagon City are close and there are lots of shops and restaurants there. Never did stop in Old Town Alexandria, but drove through it enough to see there was ample to do there too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel. We strive to make all of our guests happy and comfortable and feedback from our guests helps us in working towards our goals. I will forward your comments to the rest of the staff and please stay with us again when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The staff was friendly, the front desk called after about half an hour to make sure the room was up to expectations, and there's a free shuttle service to the restaurant area of town.

Everything about this hotel met or exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel and we are very pleased we exceeded your expectations. I will forward your comments to the rest of the staff and please stay with us again when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, NV
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was my first time to the DC area and I picked this hotel online due to the shuttle services to and from the airport. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The shuttle services and drivers were great. We had to wait just a few minutes each time for the shuttle. The free breakfast was great every morning. I loved the free coffee and tea that they offered all day. The rooms were comfy and clean. We were stranded in DC due to super storm Sandy and they were very accomindating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We appreciate your nice comments and I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Our shuttle service is one of the great amenities enjoyed by our guests. Please come and visit with us again when your travel plans bring you back to the Alexandria area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.