We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A PLEASURE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WHAT A PLEASURE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for a week from 6 August 2012 and had a great time. It is really well situated for the Reagan Airport as well as the Metro for DC.Not to mention Alexandria Old town center. The hotel has a free shuttle to all of these also.
The rooms were clean and looked nice the staff were friendly (all of them) and nothing seemed too much trouble for them to make your stay nice. Breakfast was very nice - every morning.
Facilities such as the pool and gym as well as the computers and wi-fi were very convenient.
Although right next to a busy main road we were not troubled by traffic noise at all (our room was on the road side of the building too.). proximity to Old Town Alexandria was a wonderful and un-expected pleasure as this place has an amazing "vibe" with many really nice restaurants to choose from (many with live entertainment) in all price ranges. It gets better - the FREE hotel shuttle will drop you off and collect you from a central point there - just takes a phone call. Or if you prefer or want to go there straight out of the city, there is a free city trolly car running the length of Kings Street from the Metro station to the river.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel. We strive to make all of our guests happy and comfortable and feedback from our guests helps us in working towards our goals. I will forward your comments to the rest of the staff and please stay with us again when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    174
    67
    20
    17
See reviews for
199
116
25
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here while on a trip to Washington, DC for 7 nights. It is convenient to D.C, and very affordable compared to all the other hotels in the D.C area. We booked a studio room and it was very spacious, and very clean! The hotel provides FREE 24 HOUR shuttle to the nearest metro station (upon request), airport (every hour), and to Old Town Alexandria (upon request), FREE parking, FREE breakfast and FREE wi-fi. It is located right off the freeway, and they have plenty of handicap parking which is another plus! The only issues we had is our bathroom was a walk-in shower and the floor was not level so every time you take a shower the water would drain outside the doorway onto the carpet in the hotel room, it was pretty minor but very irritating. The other issue is there are 2 steps you have to walk up to get into the hotel, well once you walk up the steps you enter the lobby through automatic doors, but for disabled people you use a ramp located beside the steps, but there is no automatic door. You actually have to open the door by yourself. So it makes no sense to have an automatic door for the non-disabled and a regular door for the disabled. So for that reason I gave them an overall rating of 4 instead of 5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel. We strive to make all of our guests happy and comfortable and feedback from our guests helps us in working towards our goals. I will forward your comments to the rest of the staff and upper management. Please stay with us again when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

With free parking, free breakfast (which was great), quick, friendly and free shuttle service, and a WONDERFUL, well-equipped room, my husband and I could not have been more pleased with this hotel. It was totally worth staying off the main strip. The staff was kind and helpful and the hotel, in general, was nice and clean. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Your comments will be passed along to the team members to let them know they are doing a good job. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Absolutely unacceptable service and no effort to resolve my problem by front desk staff or manager since their occupancy is so high. If it wasn't so late I would be gone. Don't stay here as you will realize the amenities won't be available when you want them. Terrible location mixed in with freeways all around, hardly the true Old Town Alexandria experience I thought I booked on Priceline.com. This hotel manager claims to not be a Hampton Inn although the names says it is Hampton inn and suites old town. This is not Old Town Alexandria not even close to the real old town where shopping and dining are next door. Very confusing exits to even get near the place and more than likely you'll get an extra 20 minutes of driving to find it even with a computer. Other guests checking in said the same or worse of finding this place. When a hotel doesn't care about us as guests then I'll rate them as crappy. The breakfast better be great. Note the pool doesn't open til 2 pm as their life guard does show up til then. A lot of good that does anyone who did DC all day or might want to swim in the morning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments on the hotel. The actual name of the hotel in the Hilton Directory is Hampton Inn Alexandria Old Town Area South. Due to the restriction on the number of characters that Priceline has on the listing of the name of the hotels, the Area South words were missing. We are currently in the process of working with Priceline to add that. However, we are 1 1/2 miles away from the center of Old Town and we provide 24 hour free shuttle service. We do not want any guests mislead on where we are located and want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us. The pool opens at 2:00pm - 10:00pm Monday through Friday and 10:00am - 10:00pm on Saturdays and Sundays. We have found that most of our guests are out of the building in the mornings and returning in the late afternoons during the weekdays which is why the pool opens at 2:00pm. I hope you will consider our hotel on any future trips you have through the Alexandria area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We typically stay at Hampton properties b/c they make sense when you are traveling with kids. This Hampton was nice, not as ritzy as others, but comfortable. The ground transportation was very helpful, getting to and from the Huntington Station and DCA and the fellas driving the vans were very nice. My only real gripe would be, and I don't think this was much the hotel's problem, was the week we stayed here it was terribly crowded, which made going down to get coffee/tea in the dining area difficult as they were out of hot water/coffee and b/c of the large crowds sort of milling about, the lobby area just seems very crowded and the dining area, messy. Other than that, perfectly nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all comments, weather bad or good, so that we can improve our guest's experience. We will make note of your comments regarding the location of the coffee and perhaps relocate the station to another location. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family and stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites (HIS) toward the end of June 2012. Unfortunately, this was in the midst of one of the largest blackouts ever recorded in the DC area. And temps averaged over 90F -- plus humidity. Fortunately, this hotel is so new, I guess their power grid was one of the first to turn on. (Also near a highway drawbridge, so I can see why the city turned on their grid ASAP). We made it there ~1am and there was ~12 groups in line. Found out they were mostly locals looking for air conditioning. The hotel's system was down, yet the mgr (Eduardo, I think his name was) and his assts were doing EVERYTHING they could to get everyone in the room. If you think abt the situation (muggy room, >20 tired people barely holding onto their sanity), I was amazed at the professionalism of the mgr and his crew. Every word they said to anyone was polite and controlled. They let me skip to the front bec. I had a month-old reservation. I felt kinda guilty but accepted it for the sake of my exhausted kids. I wished everyone good luck. Fortunately, I saw most of the people in line ahead of me the next day. They had all got rooms!
The rooms are clean and housekeeping did a great job. Free breakfasts are a Godsend. The free shuttles to the metro station are great, yet, as others mentioned, can be slow to arrive. It goes to the Huntington station. Shuttles available to Reagan airport as well. PROTIP: they have unadvertised free shuttles to Old Town. Pool and fitness room were great too. Every staff member was great, except for this stuffy elder woman at the front desk day shift. Kitchen staff, front desk, pool guy, housekeeping were all very polite and professional. No on-site restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf-course are quieter. Breakfasts can be chaotic with the sheer number of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. The storm that hit the Metropolitan area did a number on us and the power outage was widespread. I am pleased about the comments on the staff and will pass it along to everyone to let them know it did not go unnoticed. Please stay with us again on your next trip through Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

It is a comfortable place to stay! We chose to stay here because 1) Affordable, comfortable room & bed 2) Free hot breakfast 3) Free ground transportation to metro.

The Hampton was comfortable and the breakfast was good.

One must be patient with the ground transportation. During busy times (8 am & 5 pm) the wait was long as the shuttle van holds around 8 people total. It is too far, and too dangerous to walk to the Hunington Metro station on the yellow line. In the mornings when everyone is wanting to get out to the sites, if you are relying on a shuttle; quite a few others will be too as this is a sizeable hotel. This was the only negative we experienced. If you plan to use metro to get around; you may want a hotel that is conveniently located next to one.

We were enjoying the Smithsonians and the Washington Mall with family. Typically, travel into DC mall area from Hunington station was about 30 minutes and cost about $4 one way per person. If your staying a while; the 7 day metro pass may be a good value for you. Most attractions in DC open @ 10 am; therefore, we found it best to enjoy extra sleep as the breakfast bar was very busy @ 7-8 am. 9 am seemed to be just right; then grab a shuttle to Hunington station. From Hunington station, we found that Alexandria provides free trolley service up and down King Street; get off at the King street stop to enjoy Old Town Alexandria. There were also some good restaurants at the Eisenhower stop. On metro, one can run all over DC.

I found renting a car to be very expensive at Reagan Int'l; so, I took metro to Union station and bought an Amtrac ticket to BWI for $14 (Baltimore). It was a 45 minute drive back to the hotel. From there, we drove down to Mt Vernon and up to Gettysburg, PA. I found the inconvenience of renting at BWI saved us $500 for the week we used the car. Don't rent a car to see DC mall area; parking the car will kill your wallet and you still have quite a walk to see everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for writing a detailed review of your stay with us. You shared some very helpful tourist information that I hope helps other travelers. Please stay with us again when your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.