We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“car needed--good National Harbor alternative--read on for positive features” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“car needed--good National Harbor alternative--read on for positive features”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I was attending a convention at the Gaylord National Resort in nearby National Harbor, Md., and the Hampton in National Harbor was booked, so since I was driving anyway I came here. $199 a night was within my company's budget but might be a bit much for this hotel. Having said that---if you are driving this may be an option for you. On busy US 1 and nothing walkable. There is a 24 hour a day shuttle to Old Town or Reagan National Airport, shuttle perhaps goes to other locations of which I am unaware. No charge for shuttle but of course you should tip. Free parking. No restaurant but 24 option of small shop where you can purchase frozen dinners, ice cream, a few things like that. Items cost a bit more than they would in grocery store but you're not being gouged either. Free breakfast in pleasant area, very clean, don't expect huge variety of options but it is food. Clean rooms, hallways, elevators. Front desk personnel pleasant. Usual cookies at check in not present and I did not notice them anytime during my stay so perhaps Hampton Inns don't do that anymore. Bathrooms appear to be recently renovated, beds comfortable, TVs older but nice range of channels, very good soundproofing in rooms. Microwave and mini fridge in room. A couple details continued to overlooked by housekeeping---for example, light that you would switch on when you came into the room was burned out when I came there and remained burned out the entire time I was there, housekeeping would have had to be in the dark when entering the room and would have to have noticed. Fridge only worked if at coldest temp and then froze everything and was loud, but in fairness I did not have time to report it to front desk management. Heat also a little iffy but it was early October so no big deal. Towels replaced when used but washcloths were not. Two computers each with a desktop printer located in 24 hr business center but one printer was out of toner. I did report the printer being out of toner promptly but it was 3 days before toner was replaced and that made for a problem if other computer was in use and you needed to print driving directions or whatever. Also some difficulties logging into certain sites from the business center computers but you can check email and get Google or Mapquest driving directions. This location is far removed from D.C. proper and not as nice as Hampton in National Harbor, but if you are driving and attending a conference in National Harbor and your company has a strict budget, and/or hotels in National Harbor are fully booked (which often happens), this may be a solid option for you. After all, if you're driving you have to pay for the parking in National Harbor anyway, and you're only four miles/one freeway exit away. Just continue to bring any minor issues to the attention of management promptly, some of which I did not take the time to do. Don't forget that there is a water taxi from Alexandria and National Harbor both to Georgetown, which may be another option for you weather permitting should you need to get to D.C. proper. And don't forget the free hotel shuttle to Old Town if you need to go to dinner. You can also get the Metro into D.C. from Old Town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at the hotel during your recent stay with us. I appreciate the honest and candid comments and will pass them along to the other staff members to we can improve on the little things. I am confused regarding the TV comments because we replaced all of our TVs in July to new flatpanel TVs and HD will be arriving here soon. I also love the channel options offered.

Visit with us again when traveling into the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    149
    52
    16
    13
See reviews for
164
91
22
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel is not close to anything. No stores, no restaurants/bars within walking distance. You will need a car unless you want to take the shuttle to the metro station everytime you go out... I chose this hotel because there was nothing else available at a reasonable price. So i was stuck. If you would like to enjoy an adult beverage after a hard days work, make sure you stop along the way. The little store at the hotel does not carry any beer or wine.
Staff was nice, especially the girl driving the shuttle to the metro, she was great. This shuttle is very convenient and efficient, never had to wait more than 3-4 minutes. Heard some rumblings about the shuttle to the airport only operating sporadically. Hotel was clean, average beds, bathrooms are large and looked like they were recently renovated, TV service was not HD.

Definitely not worth the $ 199 / night I paid. I would expect a little better for this amount.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all comments, weather bad or good, so that we can improve our guest's experience.

I am very pleased to hear your comments on the shuttle and the bathrooms. I will pass along the nice comments to the staff members. The airport shuttle is on a call basis for arriving guests and returning to the airport, we leave every hour on the hour and request guests to sign up at the front desk.

Please come and visit with us again when you return to the Alexandria area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I did not stay a long time at this hotel since I was attending an event nearby, but my stay was okay so I am willing to try it again. Management was courteous. My room was fine. Parking was free (one of the reasons why I decided to stay at this location). It is located right off of I-395. Shuttle service was available if I needed to use it (I almost did). Overall, my stay was okay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Your comments will be passed along to the team members. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future - stop by my office if you get a chance, would love to meet you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Overnight stay for business. Credit Cards and 2 checks stolen. Management unconcerned and defensive. Police report filed and still under investigation. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Okay, this is the Hampton Inn, so don't expect high-end amenities. It was clean, the rooms were large enough, the staff were friendly, and it had the usual high-carb low-quality breakfast bar you'd expect. It's fine for what it is, but I wouldn't choose to stay here. For the price, I think you can do much better. However, I haven't been in DC for two years so prices may have jumped considerably.

The biggest problem is that they are so dang far from everything. There is nothing within walking distance. They do have a shuttle to old town, the metro, and DCA, but you are dependent upon their availability. If you have your own vehicle, then that changes the equation and may make it a more desirable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all comments, weather bad or good, so that we can improve our guest's experience.

We strive to make every guest happy and where as we are not located in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, we offer items the other hotels do not such as free parking and lower room rates. Most of our guests are very pleased with the shuttle service and wait times are usually not long and we give estimated times of arrival.

When traveling through the area again, please stay with us and try out the new breakfast element that has been added - Fresh Made Oatmeal with hearty topping choices. I think you will find this heart healthy item a nice addition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Quite hard to fault it. Used the shuttle to the station on two days and it worked seamlessly. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was expansive and the desk staff were very helpful. The only things I would criticise were that there wasn't coffee on tap as I had been led to believe and the television didn't seem to have any way of automatically adjusting to accomodate the bizarre array of aspect ratios for different channels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Arrived at Reagan at 10:30PM. Called for advertised shuttle service. Where advised that we had two options: 1) wait 40 minutes for the next shuttle 2) walk 15 minutes to the Metro station, figure out how to work the ticket machine, travel with luggage to "the last stop", call them when we got to the last stop and they would pick us up there. Given the hour, the fact that we were unfamiliar with the Metro system, and are senior citizens with luggage, we called a cab. Which cost us $30. Our son who lives in DC was furious at the Metro suggestion, given the previously mentioned circumstances and the resent problems at night on the Metro with "flash mob" violence and robberies. There were two vans parked in front of the reception canopy at the hotel upon arrival. We were told they were unable to give us a non smoking King room, despite our "Diamond Status" with Hilton and the fact that we had reserved and prepaid. After making the desk clerk aware of our allergy issue, we were given a non smoking room. The room had a double bed, smelled of stale urine, and was hot (A/C not on), but it was non smoking. We did make our issues known to management. We were informed that they do have three vans for guest pick up, but can only use one at a time. The room problem, they have so many "Diamond Status" Hilton guests that they can't honor their requests. So basically, if you don't like it stay somewhere else. And be assured in the future we will.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Management is poor and unconcerned about guest issues, in our opinion. Hotel is locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all comments, weather bad or good, so that we can improve our guest's experience. Safety and security of our guests is if the utmost importance. The airport is located about 15-20 minutes from the hotel and we do offer the free shuttle, however, guests may have to wait for the shuttle to return to pick them up based upon the current location of the vans. We do give customers the expected wait time and in your case, an alternative method of getting to us. We will use your comments refresh our staff that not all travelers are familiar with metro systems.

We appreciate your Diamond Status with Hilton Honors and always try to accommodate all requests, however, if the hotel is full, this may not be possible.

Please come and visit with us again when you return to the Alexandria area. We would love to get another opportunity to WOW you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly added 57 studio suite addition to the existing 156 guest rooms. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.