We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but there is nothing around...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but there is nothing around...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Nice rooms but there is nothing around! Grocery store across the street but that's about it.
Bad news, the internet access doesn't work in the rooms. Only the lobby. Useless in rooms
I ate at the little sandwich shop in the lobby which was convenient, but soup sandwich pie muffin and soda was $19.00
Be sure you have a car before you stay here. Airport van is shared with another hotel too

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    93
    54
    28
    22
See reviews for
57
33
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwestern New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This hotel is pretty upon entering and the front desk staff are nice. However, the room itself was just so-so. It appears to be rather old and the carpet is kind of stiff and dingy. The bed and pillows are comfortable, however. Most off-putting to me was that the cleaning staff apparently uses some kind of air-freshener that smells like a mixture of wintergreen and cherry. It was enough to practically knock me out coming in the door of my room--every morning! Also, if you get in late good luck reaching the front desk staff. Three nights in a row I tried to call for a wake-up call and it just rang and rang. Same for when I called to inquire about check-out. Not cool. I actually observed the hotel staff sitting in the guest chairs around the lobby talking instead of behind the counter-right after I tried to call. Frustrating! There is a bar and a restaurant here, but both are pretty dead. I think I saw a total of three people use them. There is also a little cafe in the lobby that serves cafe fare, pizza, and sandwiches--but pricey. A personal sized (small) pizza and soda was about $13. Parking was ridiculous at $20 a night for a tiny space underneath the building. There is no refrigerator in the room and no microwave--something my new hotel has (at half the nightly rate). "High speed internet" was slow and spotty. NO CELL PHONE RECEPTION IN ROOM. Very little storage to put away clothes. Overall, I paid over $200 a night for a room here and it really wasn't worth more than $75.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

My husband and I and our 2 kids stayed at the Holiday Inn for 6 nights. We chose Alexandria because we wanted a charming town away from the hustle and bustle of DC yet not too far. This fit that criteria. Alexandria is a lovely town! Nice hotel, nice decor and looks like it was renovated within the last few years. Beds are very comfortable too. It offers shuttles to Reagan airport every 1/2 hour, which is the nearest metro. The pool hours are from 5:00pm to 9:00pm. Kids would have liked more. The grocery store right across the street was very convenient. Internet connection was good too. Although the TV was nice, the reception was not. Something funky going on with the electricity in the bathroom. Only one plug in the outlet worked and it was intermittent. The neighborhood is very safe and there is plenty of parking around the hotel. It was a nice hotel for the price!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

My son and I stayed at this property for two nights. It was very nice – the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was great, although the cable TV selections were limited. Our room was very quiet –the hotel is just South of Reagan National airport but I didn’t hear any air traffic at night. There is a grocery store right across the street – part of the “Giant” chain … and a Trader Joe’s about two blocks away. There were some restaurants within a few blocks, and many more about eight blocks away on King Street. It was a nice walk and the hotel also offers a shuttle van service. We would stay at this property again. parking was conveniet -- $20 per day.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband stayed here Valentine's weekend. We booked this hotel through hotwire for a rate of $68 per night. We loved out stay here. Check in was quick and efficient. Parking is in an underground garage around the back of the hotel. It is $20 per night, but this fee was waived by the front desk. Our room was great. It lookes recently renovated and had a flat screen TV and fridge/micro in the room. We did go to see the fitness area and pool, but did not use it. The pool is an indoor pool that flows outside during the warmer months. It was a little small for the indoor side, but would be great to use both sides in the warmer months. There is a life guard on site. The fitness room was nice and is right next to the pool area. There is also a grocery store directly across the street if you want to go purchase some things for the room. We were going to go out for Valentine's Dinner, but decided to stay away from the crowds and dine in the restaurant on site. It was very quiet with only 4 other tables with guests. The food was good and was reasonably priced. We had a great nights rest and the beds were comfortable. We had to leave early to attend a conference the next morning and did not have time for a sit down breakfast so we grabbed a breakfast sandwich at the cafe' in the hotel. It was great and fast and the price was great for a filling on the go breakfast. I would come here again and recomend this hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

This was a wonderful hotel. It was nice inside, and out. Historic Alexandria is amazing. The hotel restaurant was good, maybe a bit pricey, but good none the less. Grocery store across the street, and plenty of restaurants in the vicinity.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york, NY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Unproffessional staff, it is just another holiday inn. This area has so many other great hotels, this hotel isnt just the best option

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.