We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Oxford, AL
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I don't usually stay in Holiday Inns because I've had varied experiences in the past. This one, though, was really nice!

Staff was very friendly. Hotel and rooms were clean. Parking garage under the property.

Great location, as we could walk to different restaurants nearby.

Room was spacious; would have been great for a family of 3 or 4. Bathroom was quite small, though. Just enough room to turn around, but don't plan on closing the door after you sit on the toilet. Bath & Bodyworks shampoo and conditioner! Decent stuff that actually lathers--woot!

There were actually enough hangers for my clothes for the week! A first for me.

The TV situation was odd. It is glued down to the dresser, and the screen didn't turn. I had to slide the dresser to be able to watch TV on the couch.

Mini fridge in the room. Full bar and restaurant downstairs.

I would actually come back to this property for future visits!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    112
    64
    32
    24
See reviews for
71
40
30
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Myself and a colleague recently stayed at the Holiday Inn during a meeting. We checked in late and it went smoothly and efficiently. The greeting staff was friendly and professional. We arrived just as the bar was closing but the bartender, Mr. Bill was very gracious in serving us as well as a couple of other stragglers. He didn't rush us while we sipped our wine at the end of a hard day and was engaging and cheerful. It was a great way to wind down after a long day of boring meetings. The room itself was very clean and extremely comfortable. Loved the king sized bed with a comfortable mattress. And very much appreciated the coffee pot in the room the next morning.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel in Alexandria is very convenient to Reagan National Airport (2 miles), downtown Washington, D.C. for meetings or visitor attractions, as well as the historic sites in Alexandria, Arlington Cemetery, and Mount Vernon. Clean, modern rooms and a good staff. Acceptable restaurant facilities with decent food. The price is good by Washington standards.

Room Tip: High floor in the East or North sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very disappointing experience. I booked this hotel because it had a swimming pool and I wanted to swim before I went to my meetings every morning. Unfortunately when I arrived I found that the pool is only open 4pm-9pm on weekdays (longer at weekends) and there is nothing to be done about this because State regulation stipulates that there has to be a life guard on duty. Also, the pool is the size of a postage stamp. It's probably lovely in summer when it opens up to an open air pool. However, the opening hours should be clearly stipulated when booking.

My other huge gripe is the noise from the archaic air-conditioning. When it is on it is unbelievably loud. But even when it is off there is a thunderous noise coming through the ventilation in both the bedroom and bathroom. You definitely need ear plugs to sleep. There is a (small) bath in the bathroom - but it is impossible to have a nice relaxing bath because of the awful noise.

Room was a reasonable size, basic but functional. But there is no safe deposit box in the room which I find unacceptable.

Wifi was also pretty erratic. On my first day it was not available from around 8pm at night until after 7pm the next morning. I missed one conference call with Europe and had to go to Starbucks at 7am to be able to participate in a second.

Also annoying is that the bar/resto and room service are only available between 4pm and 9pm. This seems exceptionally limited - especially as the hotel is not so close to the bars and restos of King Street (Around a 15 minute walk - probably ok in summer but not so pleasant in freezing winter temperatures).

Also note that there is a very hefty service charge added to room service orders. My check was 45 dollars but I was charged a 9 dollar service fee as well as a 2 dollar tray fee. This is not stipulated in the room service menu.

On a positive note, Karen at reception and the bar and room service staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. However, based on this experience, it is very unlikely I would ever stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear RB_BRU,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It is regrettable you did not enjoy your stay at our property. We are sorry the pool area did not meet your expectations. We thank you for bringing the issue with the air conditioning system to our attention. Feedback from our guests is something that we welcome and use to improve our product.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I normally do not write reviews, but felt I needed to for this hotel. My daughter and I stayed here for a weekend with a bunch of other families for a cheer competition. My room was spotless and spacious. What I was really impressed with was the how wonderful we were treated at the Bistro. The Bistro opened at 6:30 on Saturday to a room full of hungry girls and parents that needed to be on the road for 7:00. On Sunday, we needed to be on the road at 6:30. Our waitresses arranged for the Bistro to open a half an hour early so our girls could eat a hearty breakfast before we left. The two waitresses, Alicia T and Kisone, were wonderful! They were very helpful and worked fast to get us fed and on the road. I will definitely stay here again next year!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked for 5 nights and were given a room on the 4 th floor which is the highest. Can't imagine what the noise level must be like on the lower floors because we had sports teams running and yelling down the halls even after midnight.
I think we were the only guests who weren't part of soccer/baseball etc sports.
a tired, well worn hotel in dire need of an update. Can't recommend. Sorry!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Rannaloro,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We apologize you were not completely comfortable in your room due to the noise from neighboring guest, also that our hotel may have appeared to be little worn. We are sorry this caused you to be very disappointed with us. We ask that at any time you are not comfortable, please contact our friendly front desk representatives who are eager to help make your stay an exceptional stay. Please reconsider us to visit, we would love the opportunity in you returning to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We spent a very special weekend with two of our grandsons visiting DC. I chose HI because of moderate cost and the shuttle to a metro station. We all were pleasantly surprised to discover that we were staying at a truly "full service" property. We enjoyed the bar and had a very fine meal in the restaurant. Bill is a superb barkeep and the kitchen put out a good meal in spite of some odd adolescent requests. The entire front house staff was professional, aware and answered all our "where to" questions. I truly liked that a grocery is within a block, important when traveling with kids. The room was bigger than I expected with upgraded bedding and pillows (another surprise I must admit) We enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool after dinner too. Small but fun with the kids. All in all we will come back here again...probably with two more grandkids!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.