We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, location and free parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
washington dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Value, location and free parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed in the Holiday Inn in Old Town many times this past year and am finally writing a review before I return in a few weeks. This hotel has clean, spacious rooms. It is only a 15 -20 minute drive from DC depending on the time of day. Parking can be extremely expensive in the DC area and this hotel does not charge which is very rare and welcome. Another bonus is the grocery and liquor stores right across the street. Public transpo on the metro is not right there, but it is a pleasant 20-25 minute walk to the nearest station through historical Alexandria.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    109
    62
    31
    23
See reviews for
68
40
30
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every morning Alicia met us for breakfast with a smile and brightened our day. She was always there when we needed anything.THANKS FROM OUR FAMILY ALICIA. Hotel was walking distance to king street atractions.Our room was one of the few that was available with three separate sleeping arangements. I noticed that holiday inn prices are kreeping up in recent years where sometimes out of the reach of avarage families. The founder of the Holiday inn had families in mind with affordability.
Alicia keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ZAFERfrombostonUS,

We appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with a great overall experience. We also appreciate the name recognition of our staff. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with a great overall experience. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you like to sleep in a dark room, be sure to bring eye shades. When I turned out the lights to go to sleep, light poored in from the wide gap around the door, which directly faces the bed (theres no hallway from door to sleep chamber to divert the light). Never seen so much light pollution from a hotel room door anywhere. Otherwise, the spacious room was in very good order with a comfortable bed and pillows. Good location in Old Town. Pleasant and courteous staff and breakfast service. And if you want a quiet room for sleeping, heat it up or cool it down while you are out to dinner because you will want to turn off the noisy unit when you turn in for the night. Or bring earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've had a great stay at this Holiday Inn
Personnel are great
Bill at the bar is an excellent bartender
Very courteous and great conversation
The service is outstanding
Keep up the good work!
William Z

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bill Z,

We appreciate your comments. We take pride in your positive name recognition of our staff, feedback on our services and hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and anticipating your return to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms are spacious. Room temperature was a bit of a challenge to control. Parking under the building was convenient and easy to get in and out. We chose the "fiscal cliff" package which included parking and complimentary breakfast and made this stay a good value compared to the competition.

The highlight of each morning was having breakfast served by Alicia. Her bright smile and engaging personality along with outstanding service is wonderful---a true gem!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Carl V,

We appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with a great overall experience. We also appreciate the name recognition of our staff. We're really happy to know you had a wonderful experience.We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff friendly, and that our location was perfect for you to enjoy the area. Thank you for choosing us, we hope you would choose us again. We'll look to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First let's start with the positives. You are so close to DC that it is a great and inexpensive place to stay to see the area attractions. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. There is a nice pool that goes from indoors to outdoors and a small room of gym equipment.

I have stayed at this hotel over 15 times and I have never had a bad experience with the rooms.

There is a free shuttle to Old Town Alexandria which is nice, but it runs a little infrequently.

However, there are a few things that I would like to see improved. The snack bar downstairs is expensive, poor quality and the staff don't seem to understand instructions like 'can I have butter with my bagel'. The person working in the snack bar did not seem to speak or understand English very well. Also there is a $20 per night parking fee - although there is plenty of on-street parking, you need to be very careful not to get a parking ticket. $20 a night for parking is way too much.

I ate breakfast once this past weekend at the restaurant on premises, but even though the item that I ordered off the menu was $3 (a pot of yogurt) the server insisted on charging me $6. I am not sure if there is a minimum charge, but it should have been stated if there was.

So I would say that apart from a few faults, this is a great family hotel in a great area.

I was disappointed at not being recognized as a Platinum Rewards member. It doesn't sound like a big deal, but they tried to charge me $60 a night for a room upgrade. I've never had to prove that I am Platinum before, but I did this past weekend.

Room Tip: Corner suites are awesome - request one and you might luck out and get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear nickhull123,

Thank you for your valued comments. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We are happy you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. We apologize that you felt your Platinum status seemed benign, we should have gladly upgraded without additional cost. Customarily we will if we have the IHG Members' number on the reservation or presented at check in. I will forward this valuable information to my Department Heads for subsequent improvements. We are constantly training our staff to ensure that our guests are satisfied. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. We are glad you chose us for your stay, and anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in area for event at DC Armory...it was priced great compared to area hotels. It was a short hop to all the area attractions within DC, VA, and Maryland. The only thing lacking would be the small food shop downstairs...it needs something more. There is a grocery store across street that has most everything you need. I like the town has a great feel and nice restaurants to go to instead of having to battle the "big city".

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Bseenu,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We're glad we were able to provide you with service that was affordably priced, comfortable, accommodating, and that we were the best location for your travels. We however, will forward your comments to the cafe of which you mentioned we do not manage the establishment in any manner. We are glad you chose us, and we hope you would return, to experience the comfortable accommodations and convenience of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.