We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bad Expirence” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
1 review
“Very Bad Expirence”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was there 08/21/14 until 08/24/14 i had worse experience of this location
1) NO Microwave
2) WIFI Connection was poor.
3) All phone service shutdown No data connection also i did not see my e-mail not text and even No phone Calls out going and in coming,My 9th years daughter want to call me from room to lounge 6six time trying to talk to me i did not received any phone calls from hotel telephone to my cell which was local thy charge me $40 dollars.What i learned from this location was not good for businessman,Nor cowman peoples.peoples. Holiday inn is big hotel but behave like Motel.I wish Holiday in do something to make costumer happy.I spoke to the front desk ask for help to give me curtsy discount and want to talk to the manager he said his a boss and he can not do anything.

Room Tip: I was there 08/21/14 until 08/24/14 i had worse experience of this location 1) NO Microwave 2) WIF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    94
    57
    29
    23
See reviews for
64
35
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY,NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed her just one night while I was in town for a family event. I'ts pretty much a standard 3 star property. The room was clean enough I guess but I wasn't really looking too closely. I used the shuttle once to get the metro station at the airport and it was a full mini bus even though I was the only one that got on at the lobby entrance. I guess there's another property it services.

It was a bit of a hike from King Street but a pretty walk nonetheless provided it's not the usual swampy mess in DC. There's a supermarket across the street which proved useful as there's not a lot of dining options once you venture off King st.

Among the lowlights were non-functioning outlets in the lamp bases, weak water pressure in the shower and black out shades that didn't quite meet each other. I was failed to receive caffeinated coffee for the coffee maker. The wifi was a bit spotty too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear HurdyGurdyMan,

We appreciate your comment and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We believe your comments are a vital tool in making concerted efforts to better serve our valuable guest. Please in the future we hope you return and if there is anything during your stay you are not pleased with, please bring it to our attention we would love to make your experience with us a great one. We have a maintenance staff that is capable and would like to make your stay exceptional. We're glad you were able to experience the local area, it is a beautiful location to take a stroll around and soak in the wonderful scenic views. Thank you for choosing us. We hope you return and afford us the opportunity to exceed in providing you quality service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This location has good and bad. So depending on what you are looking for, it might work for you.

Pros - location. It is close to a park on the Potomac and 10-15 minute walk to Old Town.
The have a nice inside courtyard that is wonderful for families with small children since it is safe and totally enclosed for them to run off some energy.
The staff were very friendly.

Cons - as most have noted, the internet (which is anything but high speed) is sometimes barely acceptable and other times non-existent.
The rooms are in need of preventive maintenance - torn curtains and air filters clogged to the point of making the rooms musty and the air conditioner extremely loud.
The pool was closed a lot.
And the fire alarm is still a problem going off during the middle of the night. You could tell from the attitude of the fire department that they are tired of the situation as well.

Overall a mediocre, budget hotel that might meet your needs.

Room Tip: Don't expect an internet connection and dress for a quick fire alarm exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jane D,

Thank you so much, for your comment we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We take your valuable information for subsequent improvements in reference to the issues you have mentioned. We have capital plans to make such improvements throughout the hotel, during the course of the year. We are sorry to hear you may not stay with us in the future. We do hope you would reconsider staying again and afford us the ability to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

There were a few bump in the beginning, but they went the extra mile to make our family feel welcome! Marleen the bartender/server at the Bistro in the hotel was outstanding! She was out-of-bounds and friendly! The food quality and service level were way above what I expected!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jason L,

We appreciate your comments, your positive recognition of our staff, services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We are glad you chose us for your stay, and anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family stayed here for four days and we had a good time touring DC. The shuttle service picked us up from the Ronald Reagan Airport. The hotel is located very close to the airport. Also, it is good to know that pilots and stewardesses use this hotel. They were on the airport shuttle with us. The grocery store across the street was very convenient. We kept our refrigerator loaded with handy snacks, especially bottled water needed for our DC tours during the summer time. Our family walked to King Street in Old Town Alexandria; the walk was not bad. We wanted to take in the sights of Alexandria. It is a 15 minute walk. You may also ride the King Street Trolley free to the King Street Metro. Also, you may ride the hotel shuttle to the Ronald Reagan airport and catch the Metro from there. Hospitality at the front desk was excellent. I especially want to recognize Karen at the front desk. She was very helpful to recommend different routes and tours to take during our stay. Her patient demeanor is just what you need if you are from out of town. The room was very clean. One set back is the internet connection. It was very unstable. Overall, this hotel is a great place to stay! You will get your money's worth, especially compared to hotels in DC!

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have bad wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear sunshine240,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We appreciate you giving name recognition of our team member. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and accommodating, our staff helpful, our amenities enjoyable, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are glad you chose us, and we look forward to serving you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake co
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Came into town and my man Tamrat Tamrat rocked our visit with exceptional service and a great smile...thank you Tamrat!!!!! Hope the rest of our visit goes as well!! The gentleman at the bar was also a tremendous help. Def recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear doughLakeCo,

We appreciate your comments, your positive name recognition of our staff and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We're happy to know you would recommend us and would return, we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel met my expectation during a recent stay. The rooms were clean and of large size. The hotel staff was friendly, and gave good advice on things to do around Alexandria. There is a free hotel shuttle to DCA, where you can then take the metro into DC. I actually booked this hotel to visit DC, which save quite a bit of money. I didn't mind the inconvenience of needing to take a shuttle and metro into the city. There was lots of free parking nearby, so I also saved tremendously compared to a hotel inside DC. One downside is that the hotel is not actually in Old Town Alexandria, but a 10 minute walk north. However, when the weather is reasonable, it is actually a pleasant stroll.

Room Tip: Plenty of free street parking available if you don't mind leaving your car outside (saves on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Coh1970,

We appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with an overall experience that was exceptional. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that our location was perfect for your visit here in Alexandria. We are anticipating your return to serve you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.