We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Family vacation with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family stayed here for four days and we had a good time touring DC. The shuttle service picked us up from the Ronald Reagan Airport. The hotel is located very close to the airport. Also, it is good to know that pilots and stewardesses use this hotel. They were on the airport shuttle with us. The grocery store across the street was very convenient. We kept our refrigerator loaded with handy snacks, especially bottled water needed for our DC tours during the summer time. Our family walked to King Street in Old Town Alexandria; the walk was not bad. We wanted to take in the sights of Alexandria. It is a 15 minute walk. You may also ride the King Street Trolley free to the King Street Metro. Also, you may ride the hotel shuttle to the Ronald Reagan airport and catch the Metro from there. Hospitality at the front desk was excellent. I especially want to recognize Karen at the front desk. She was very helpful to recommend different routes and tours to take during our stay. Her patient demeanor is just what you need if you are from out of town. The room was very clean. One set back is the internet connection. It was very unstable. Overall, this hotel is a great place to stay! You will get your money's worth, especially compared to hotels in DC!

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have bad wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    94
    55
    28
    22
See reviews for
60
35
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lake co
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came into town and my man Tamrat Tamrat rocked our visit with exceptional service and a great smile...thank you Tamrat!!!!! Hope the rest of our visit goes as well!! The gentleman at the bar was also a tremendous help. Def recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel met my expectation during a recent stay. The rooms were clean and of large size. The hotel staff was friendly, and gave good advice on things to do around Alexandria. There is a free hotel shuttle to DCA, where you can then take the metro into DC. I actually booked this hotel to visit DC, which save quite a bit of money. I didn't mind the inconvenience of needing to take a shuttle and metro into the city. There was lots of free parking nearby, so I also saved tremendously compared to a hotel inside DC. One downside is that the hotel is not actually in Old Town Alexandria, but a 10 minute walk north. However, when the weather is reasonable, it is actually a pleasant stroll.

Room Tip: Plenty of free street parking available if you don't mind leaving your car outside (saves on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I admit that I wasn't thrilled about coming to Alexandria in late June given the reputation for excessive heat and humidity. The hotel was the site for a small conference of 400 people. The front desk staff kept getting me confused with another person of the same name. However, eventually it was straightened out. The rooms were well appointed and clean with good AC. The most positive distinguishing thing about the hotel was their food service. We had a banquet one night where the steak was probably one of the best that I have ever consumed. It was hot and cooked perfectly. Normally banquet fair is average at best. This was an extremely good experience. Overall their wait staff was outstanding. One night we ate in the hotel restaurant where one poor waiter was alone in serving many tables. He could have used some help. Food in this case was average at best. The location is very quiet, yet conveniently located. There's a grocery store across the street and many good restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: Third floor in the back was extremely quiet, but a long walk from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pros: The facility is bright and clean. There is a good grocery store across the street, as is a liquor store. Nice neighborhood to walk around in. The in-house "Bistro" offered good food and an exceptional staff. Our suite did have sm microwave, fridge and sink. Good television lineup.

Cons: We agreed to a $$ suite upgrade..must have been the oldest and last vacant room? It was a large, mostly empty room w/no dining table, only a couch,chair, desk and TV. Bedroom did include a comfortable King bed, but not much else but TV and cabinet. The room had two wall A/C units, the living room was automatic, the bed room unit fan ran 24/7, unless you turned the unit completely off. The front door bath commode stopped flushing. No ice on room floor, basically we were directed to help ourselves at the Bar coolers. No in-room safe (one offered for ?$$?)

Over all, the room did not look anything like the nice photos on the website. Do not accept a room on the Mezzanine level, as they appear to be a last hope.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the Mezzanine level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Kurt K,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. We will share your comments of the helpful service by our friendly staff. We apologize that the room upgrade was not up to your expectations we will look into ways to make our guest's stays in the Mezzanine suites more enjoyable and more pleasant to the guest's predilection. Thank you for bring your experience to our attention. Thank you also for choosing us and we look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynwood,IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We came with a group of 40 -the Illiana Community Congregation-to visit the DC. Rooms were spacious and clean. Key cards were not always working, but staff remedied those matters quickly. Beds and pillows were "just like home." Breakfast had many items, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, fruits,bacon, sausage, bagels, muffins, and toast. As other reviews have stated, there is musty smell in the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator, since some of the hallways are quite far from the elevator. Or ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Henry H,

We do appreciate your comment and feedback on your recent stay with us. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We are happy you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable and the breakfast to be just right for your appetite. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the musty odor in the hallway comments such as those allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention and improvement. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

So-So, Good front desk staff, cafe,limited selections and very poor service. The bar is to close to the cafe, problems with loud drunks swearing. The hallways have an old smokey/musty smell.
The location is not in the best area of town, and is a long walk from old town. no bathroom fan, no microwave in room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Historyteachertrav,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had a number of aversions that took away from you having an exceptional stay. We are very disappointed we failed in extending to you our best in accommodations. Please in the future we hope you return and if there is anything during your stay you are not pleased with, please bring it to our attention we would love to make your experience with us a great one. Thanks again for you comment and we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.