We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even a three star.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not even a three star.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I received this hotel from Hotwire. The front desk person checking me in quickly informed me that I booked through "a third party", so I was not entitled to anything extra. Upgrades, late check out, nothing. At this point I made sure I would not spend a dime at this hotel. I parked around the block, and took a cab downtown to eat. These hotels should realize that just because I used a third party booking place, I still spend money. If they don't want 'third party bookings", don't put yourself on these sites.

Location: too far away from downtown, they have a shuttle but only runs once per hour.

Room: Typical cheap hotel room. Window a/c. Plastic glasses to drink from.

If you are in need of a lower end hotel, this would be fine. I only saved a little bit over their regular rate when I used my third party booking company. I would not stay here again, because of the front desk attitude and poor location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Dave H,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize you could not be completely happy with the quality of your room. Upgrades and late check out are upon availability, unfortunately we may not have been unable to accommodate your request. We train our staff to be responsive to our guest needs. We apologize if our staff's attentiveness was not exemplary during your stay. We're sorry you were not pleased with the logistics of our complimentary shuttle services during your stay. Thank you for constructive comments help to show us where we can work harder to serve our guest better. We hope that you would reconsider returning and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    132
    79
    39
    29
See reviews for
97
53
31
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Treated very well. The restaurant at breakfast has a great waitress, Alicia, who would do anything for you. My only complaints about the hotel are the keys quit working every other time you used them and the internet would disconnect al the time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Marlynn H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the food delectable, our staff is so helpful to mention by name. We apologize for the issues you experienced with your room keys and internet. We are glad you chose us, and we're looking forward to you returning that we may serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked our room on Priceline which we've done more than a hundred times for various trips but after asking the front desk about our room we realized you get treated differently here. Our room on the 3rd floor was right near the elevator and when we walked in our first though was "very roomy." Upon further inspection we realize there's a handicapped shower with a bench in it. I thought perhaps they had just done that in every room to be accommodating and I wasn't too concerned until my husband used the shower and water went all over the bathroom floor making the tile very slippery and very dangerous.

There was also a nightstand with a drawer that wouldn't stay closed. We also had to pay an additional $20 for parking. We booked this hotel because it said "historic district" but it's actually a good 7-8 blocks from the main shopping & restaurant area.

There is breakfast in the morning and some guests get free breakfast; we did not. The waitress asked us if we had a pass so I asked at the front desk and was told we booked a "standard" room. We did not get a "standard" room; we got a handicapped room. Upon checkout I asked about that and was told "If you book a standard room you get what's available." Really? The hotel was not full at all so putting us in a room with "issues" certainly told us how they do business.

We wouldn't stay here again simply because of the way we were treated. We use Priceline or other booking sites often and we've never felt like we got "second class treatment" at any other hotel. We've had rooms at Sheraton's & Hyatt's that have certainly exceeded this Holiday Inn in hospitality. Sadly it wouldn't have cost them anything to have given us a regular room - I doubt the normal rooms are any different except for the handicapped shower and room configuration.

Room Tip: Make sure it's not handicapped with a shower that leaves a pond in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Malcomsmom,

Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience for all of our guest. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We're sorry you perceived your treatment to be bias because of the type of reservation made. We consider all guest valuable and important to us.
It's a privilege for you to have chosen us to stay with, we're looking forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here during our 4 day stay in DC. Hotel had courtesy shuttle to Metro that runs every 30 mins which helps get to DC without having to drive. If you have a car, try parking on the "free" street so u avoid paying an extra 20.00 at the hotel! The rooms and general Hotel appearance was not the greatest, but okay for someone who's going to use it primary to sleep.
They advertise free breakfast for kids, but you have to ask for the coupons at the front desk or they "forget" to give them to you. Our daily waitress Amelsa was overworked, but she was always very polite and helpful. We spoke with other families who complained about the restaurant service, but we enjoyed Almesa and her service. Overall it was a pretty good place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Not as nice as most Holiday Inns.
Couldn't find the coffee maker until I was leaving - it was under a table.
It was in the middle of nothing but not far from everything. Front desk very pleasant and helpful but difficult to understand. Glad I was only there one night.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear jereitz3549,

Thank you so much for the feedback provided from your stay and your compliment regarding our front desk staff. We appreciate you taking the time to provide critical feedback which we use to help us improve our services for you and all our future guests. We are sorry for the room amenities received. We will certainly discuss your comments with the appropriate department. We hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Others reviewers have hit the nail on the head .... It's an ok hotel brought down by the noisyness of its residents and their lack of understanding that at 1am it's not acceptable to talk really loudly in their room . Problem is I don't think they were talking loudly it's just the paper thin width of the walls. Like others have said lots of school children on organized trips stay here so be prepared for giggling teenage girls in the corridors. Was a little surprised when calling the front desk to ask what time breakfast finished I was told 'I think 1030, but I'm not sure and it may not be like that' hmmmm.................. Stay elsewhere if you want a quiet nights sleep!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Sam25Nottingham.

Thanks for the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us due to a group of noisy youths that were here during your stay. I do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We really hope you reconsider your decision of not returning. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to again, provide with the type of services you prefer and deserve. We appreciate your comments and feedback on our hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are looking forward to you returning to our area to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here and realized it was not worth the money I spent. The staff does not care about you and will not deal with any issues. I asked them 2 times to stop the kids from slamming the doors and running down the hall after 10pm. The room was clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Kafrederick1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise from other guests prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.