We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but no AC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice enough but no AC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Be sure to ask if the Air conditioning is on. I'm here in December and either the AC is not working on my room or the AC has been turned off on the hotel. ( Some places actually do that).
The windows don't open either. I tried.
The hotel van service is good. There is a grocery store across the street. And a couple small restaurants in the area.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Ord737fo,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the hotel shuttle to be notable and the location to be suitable to you itinerary. However we would have preferred you were pleased entirely with your overall experience during your stay as one of our valued customer. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay to having a just an nice stay. We hope that you return and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    109
    62
    31
    23
See reviews for
68
40
30
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

1-Location: the hotel is in a quiet street, 15 min. walking to downtown Alexandria and also 15 min. to the Metro station. The metro will take you to the Mall in Washington in 20 min. There is a Supermarket 'Giant' across the street. The hotel has a free shuttle to and from Reagan Airport every half hour. If you don't feel like walking to the metro you can take the shuttle to the airport and in 5min. you will be at the train. 2- The Hotel: large and nice place. We got a huge double bed room with a fridge, coffee making facilities and good mattresses. The hotel has an indoor pool very convenient for a splash before dinner. 3: A Plus. The provide free bikes ( and helmets). We made a wonderful bike ride to Mt Vernon!!!! 4: Price. We paid 134 bucks at the Internet for a prepaid plan ( without breakfast) do not search for a better place! It is the cheapest in the area. HIGHLY RECOMMEND !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Murilo,

We appreciate your comments and feedback on our hotel. It was more than our pleasure to serve you. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're elated to know you would recommend us and would return, we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Holiday Inn is always my go-to lodging when away from home, but this time I struck out. Hotel was very dated, the front desk clerk was cold and almost militant in her replies to my questions. The interior of the room was clean but looked like a Motel 6 from 1988. There were large tears in the blinds that the staff at one time tried to hold together with masking tape. The window was broken and stuck open about an inch, which turned out to be a blessing with the cold November air because the heater was unbearably hot and smelly, even set at a very low temperature. I could not park my truck in the underground garage because of the height restrictions, but there was outdoor parking, although I'm not sure why I had to pay $20 for it when it was unguarded and in the far rear of the building. All in all I was unhappy and will never use this facility again.

Room Tip: East facing, exterior room shave a great view of the approaching aircraft at Reagan National. Surp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. Our goal is that we meet the needs of our guest while staying us. We are constantly training our staff to engage our guest with a friendly smile and to ensure that our guests are satisfied. We regret we did not meet that goal. We apologize that you were not pleased with the rooms decor, and our parking facility. The damage to the window treatments is something we will look into and fix. Our parking fees are more than comparable in price for this area, and the parking lot is apart of our security's tours nightly. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently returned from a three night stay at this hotel...it was booked by a business associate. First, the good....comfortable and clean room and bath....excellent shuttle service. at this point the hotel deserves a four star rating.
Now, the not so good.....the hotel advertises free fast internet connection....when (and IF) you can gain access...it is slower than the dial up I had fifteen years ago. I note that other reviewers have left complaints....obviously nothing has been done to correct the situation...this is my PET PEEVE! The television set in my assigned room featured a snowy screen....with very limited choice of channels. Buffet Breakfast is the usual found at midpriced hotels...and while most of those hotels include the Breakfast in the room rate....this hotel charges for the Breakfast. At this point, the hotel deserves NO star rating.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear TravelerFL,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to make concerted efforts to improve our guest overall experience. We apologize that the Wifi service was an items to affect your impression of us. We have recently began making changes in our services with our WiFi provider to improve the WiFi service for our guest as these efforts are underway and yet to be completed. In that respect we have let you down, and prefer you had a better experience at our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business for 5 nights. The property was in good shape and is in a good location in Old Town Alexandria. I am an IHG platinum member and they upgraded me to a very nice room for the duration of my stay. My room was cleaned and spacious. I had dinner and a drink at the hotel bar one night and I was about what a business traveler would expect. There were a few drawbacks to the hotel. The Internet was about dial up speed. This is unexpectable for 2013. I did have 2 flat screen TV's in my room, but they did not have HD channels and they channel selection itself was limited. Again, unacceptable for 2013. Sad to say that when I come to this area again, I probably will not stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear KP,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful. However we would have preferred you were pleased entirely with your overall experience during your stay as one of our valued customer. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay to having a just Ok stay. We are in the process of making the upgrades to our WiFi services and TV channels. We hope that you return and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days for a wedding event. Loved the location - we were able to walk to Old Town and the wedding venue. The grocery store across the street was perfect - we got snacks and drinks and were very comfortable during our stay. Room was spacious, front desk staff was helpful and friendly - and the special rates for the wedding party were attractive. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We took the shuttle to Reagan. And ended up taking a taxi to Washington DC to save time. Taxi was only $20 so it worked for us. Don't understand the complaints of others - you're staying at a Holiday Inn folks not a boutique, pricey hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Throughout my stay, the hotel staff was very polite and helpful. They always greeted me with a smile and gave great recommendations for the surrounding area.

However, there are a number of issues with the hotel itself. I walked in to the hotel room and immediately noticed it smelled musty. The curtains were also slightly dirty.

In addition, the wi-fi in the hotel was very bad. I could only connect to it about 70% of the time. When I could connect, the wi-fi was terribly slow. As a visitor for business purposes, not having internet was difficult.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Cjppjc,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. Our goal is that we meet the needs of our guest while staying us. We regret we did not meet that goal. We apologize that you were not pleased with the WiFi service. We have recently began making changes in our services with our WiFi provider to improve the connectability for our guest. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.