We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for friends to get reaquainted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Coconut Creek, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great Place for friends to get reaquainted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I picked this hotel, sight unseen, for a weekend 50th class reunion of my nursing school class. I chose it for convenience from the airport and close to restaurants and shopping. We had 14 attend and had an absolutely wonderful weekend of catching up after many years of not seeing each other. Kim, at the front desk, could not have been any more accommodating to our needs. She helped arrange the shuttle for us and always acknowledged me by name. The shuttle driver went out of his way to take us to our dinner place and pick us up even though it wasn't normally on his route. I had spoken with Myrna Tesalona before I arrived regarding a casual get together the first evening. She arranged for us to have our own section of the bar area for cocktails and snacks. She even had a Welcome sign for us. Her staff, Lahbib and Marleen, took excellent care of us and catered to our every need that evening. Myrna checked on us all weekend and pretty much knew who all was in our group. She made sure that we were doing okay and if we needed anything. I did not hear one complaint from my friends about the hotel.
We decided that we would get together again in 5 years and would love to do it again at this Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: All of the rooms that I visited were spacious, bright and clean. We enjoyed our room with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Emily L,

We appreciate your comments, your positive name recognition of our staff, services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we're anticipating your return to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    89
    53
    27
    22
See reviews for
54
32
30
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eldridge, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Staff was great...helpful & friendly. Rooms were pleasant & clean...beds & pillows were comfy.... the location was so close to Ronald Regan Airport(but didn't hear any noises).. the shuttle to airport, metro & Historic King St was so convenient. The full service grocery store across the street from the hotel came in very handy. This is a dog friendly hotel, which was a must for us! This hotel has an indoor/outdoor pool & fitness center. There is a restaurant & a café on site. We also had decent Wifi in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear CRH55,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, our amenities enjoyable, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are glad you chose us, and we look forward to serving you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good - close to DCA, restaurants, and a grocery store is across the street. It's in a lovely neighborhood. My guest room had been sprayed with a deodorizer that was a bit over whelming. After turning on the air conditioner I realized why the room had been sprayed so heavily. The a/c put out a very musty, moldy smell. I mentioned it to the front desk upon checkout and hopefully it has been corrected. The staff was extremely courteous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear dsd37064,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We're happy to hear that we were conveniently located for your travel plans. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. We will make sure that our Managers are aware of this to make the necessary changes to improve. We look forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

First the bad news - we'll save the best for last.
Funny, unpleasant odor in the hallway.
Pillows? More like Chiclets. They were about 14" square. To be fair, we had 6 for our king bed.
No free coffee in the lobby.
Cups for in-room coffee were vey dirty.
Inconsistent laundry replacement. On our second day we only got one washcloth.
They did rectify the dirty cup and washcloth situation, very graciously.
Do not go to the "Bistro" down the hallway from the reception desk. You're better off going to the grocery store or the hotel restaurant (which we did not try).
A/C was extremely noisy, and kept us awake.

The good news
Beautiful location in Alexandria. It's about a block to the water, the Mount Vernon Trail, and a beautiful public park. Lovely neighborhood.
Grocery store across the street.
Other than the dirty cup and off-smell in the hallway, the room was acceptably clean. The rom was very spacious, and had a small bar sink and a mini fridge.
Toiletries were basic: shampoo, lotion and soap.
Staff were friendly and responsive.
Parking was reasonable and convenient.
It's about an 8 - 10 minute walk to the nearest Metro.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear MVSTravel,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, our amenities enjoyable, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We apologize that you were not pleased with all the aspects of your stay. We however, we will also forward your comments to the cafe down the hallway from the receptionist desk, of which you mentioned we do not manage the establishment in any manner. We look forward to you returning to allow us opportunity to exceed in our ability to serve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice hotel, clean, well-appointed with courteous, helpful staff. While having trouble with lock/keys, the maintenance staff is incredibly helpful and responded quickly. Any and all requests were handled quickly and professionally. It is located in a condo/apartment area of Alexandria, very nice and felt safe. A grocery store across the street provided the opportunity to stock up on some nice eats and drinks. Close to the airport (DCA) and major roads. Did not eat here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Millionmiletraveler,

Thank you for the comment and feedback. We are glad you were happy with the location and activities in the area. When you return you may explore the area by trying out our bicycles that are free to our guest to use an explore Old Town and the 23 mile waterfront bike trail that could be scenic and exhilarating. We look forward to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Alicia Timbol and Kesone P. did a great job at breakfast. Food at the bar was better than I thought it would be. Hotel is across from grocery store making it easy to make small purchases. The parking is easy to get to and not very crowded.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jonathan D,

Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel and your positive name recognition of our staff, services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we're anticipating your return. We're happy to know you would recommend us and would return, we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Amazing staff, nice and clean rooms,very comfortable plus free shuttle service to the airport and Old Town .Housekeepers were awesome : they found my son's plush toy lost in the room and place it sleeping on the bed when we returned from a museum trip. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Marie E,

We appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with an overall experience that was exceptional. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we are anticipating your return to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.