We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Alexandria-Historic District-Frequent Stays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Holiday Inn Alexandria-Historic District-Frequent Stays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This Hotel has been one of my favorites for the last ten years, mainly because of two employees Bill Lem & Alex Love who always go out of there way to make me and my co-works feel at home. Each year it seems like the management cuts more perks (breakfast & drink coupons) that they used to give to priority club members. A USA Today paper either in the room or at the door, the fitness closes early and opens late, no morning coffee in the lobby. It' to bad management thinks that cutting these perks saves them on there bottom line, while other hotel chains still offer extras to valued customers. Thanks Bill & Alex! Sam McQueen; PC# XXXXXX785

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sam M,

We'd like to say thank you for being a IHG Rewards club member and for being one of our loyal and frequent guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. We'd like to apologize you were not satisfied with the changes being made. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    115
    71
    34
    26
See reviews for
77
45
30
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Moe at the desk was wonderful. He helped us with all kinds of stuff, from directions to items we forgot from home. We were upgraded to suite for free, which was great since we were traveling with kids. Beds were comfy, things were clean. I really had no complaints about the hotel. The restaurant staff was very very nice, food was much tastier that I would expect for a hotel restaurant. Overall a good experience for the price and our occasion, which was a site-seeing trip with the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Ladydi1628,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback. Our guest comments are valuable to us. We are glad your family was able to enjoy the hotel and your time together. We hope that you and your family return and enjoy yourselves again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I booked this hotel online through Booking.com and paid for it in advance. I paid for a 1 non-smoking room with a king sized bed. I chose this place because I generally like Holiday Inns and it provided a free airport shuttle.
Our flight came in late and we were told there were no more shuttles to this hotel and we had to take a cab. When we got there we were told there was only one room left and it had two double sized beds. Angry we couldn't get what we had paid for, but too tired to argue, we took the room. When we entered the room it smelled so bad like cigarette smoke I thought I would get sick. It was dirty and smelly, so we went back to the front desk and told the "rude" man we could not sleep in such a dirty room. He then said he just happened to have "one" more room available. Unfortunately it was still not the king we paid for, but it was smoke free. We took it and couldn't wait to leave first thing in the morning! Never will book with Booking.com again and will have to think twice about another Holiday Inn stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear daisyndeb,

Thank you so much for your comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest on how we can improve. We apologize that you had an issue with your accommodations. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest have a great overall experience. We are constantly training our staff to make sure our guests are satisfied. We regret that you feel that we did not live up to that goal. Hopefully you will give us an opportunity once again to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great location. Lovely folks. Walk to all the nice places. A little dead around but not far from all the fun and action. Great for the folks who want to have a fun place but not a wild place.great place for business or family with adult kids. In dc or Alexandria area, highly recommended

Room Tip: Great place for couples or biz travellers or with adult kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Janak D,

We are very appreciative you taking time to leave us a comment on your stay with us. Even more happy to hear that our location was an excellent fit to your traveling itinerary. We're glad you enjoyed the area, however there are lots of things in the area to take up your entire day. Hope when your in the area once again we can give you more tips on the area for your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a nice time here, the front desk people were very helpful as was the housekeeping people. Our waiter for 3 nights eating at the hotel restaurant, Lahbib was great and made our 8 year old granddaughter feel very special. My only negative comment would be for the pool , I don't get why they would have a lifeguard when 2 of the 3 lifeguards that we met stayed inside on their phones and never came out and watched the kids. One little boy hit his head on the ground and the lifeguard never saw it and when I told her she didn't understand enough English to even get what I was saying. The hours could stand to be extended too. The location was great since we took advantage of the grocery store across the street and we had a refrig and microwave in our room so it really did help with the cost of food on our trip. We were close enough to King Street so we walked down one day and it wasn't bad, the rest of the time we took advantage of the free shuttle to the metro station and to the airport. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: we were on the 4th (top) floor so it was probably quieter and came in on a Monday and checked out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great location at a very good price but a few flaws that detracted from hotel.
Housekeeping was sub-par. The two bar stools in room had half dried soda on both when we entered room and was still on chairs on 2nd day.
The large bedroom air conditioner was right next to bed.Cold breeze all night. Could not turn off because room would heat up too much for rest of family.
Clanking noise in living room A/C.
Had to wait for table at breakfast. 75% of tables were unoccupied but dirty. After we were seated we went up to buffet, when we returned someone else was seated at our table. We were then moved but after a few mins we saw a purse on one of our chairs, so they had to move that family too. No salt or pepper at table. Could have used a straw to eat the oatmeal.
Workout room had no towels and the remote for the TV was missing a battery.
I may sound like I'm nit picking but most of these problems are easily fixed. Hotel Management is clearly not on top of things

Room Tip: The suites were not much more in price than a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Chris G.

Thank you for your very valuable comments and feedback about your stay with us. We take comments such as yours very serious. They are very vital in helping us improve in areas that are in need of improving. Our management team and associates will be apprised of your comments so that the departments mentioned will make necessary changes that will improve our guests overall experience. We apologize for the unpleasant things you experienced. Our goal is that our guests' overall experience during their stay be outstanding. We hope there will be another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After the airlines made a huge snafu with my return flight to home, I found myself stuck in the Washington, DC area for an additional night. Not wanting to be too far from Regan National Airport I looked for nearby hotels. The Holiday Inn - Alexandria Historic District came to the rescue.

I missed their free hotel shuttle by seconds but they graciously suggested I take a taxi for which they paid the fare. I was greeted by the most polite young man at the front desk. Free internet in the room and a shuttle down to King St. added to the positives for this hotel. The price was extremely reasonable as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Kelly D,

Thank you for your gracious comments about your stay with us. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your short stay with us. We are very happy to know that you had a great experience during your stay. We strive to ensure those types of encounters for our guests. We hope that if you ever have to stop by here on purpose or by snafu we will be your choice once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.