We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some incentives” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“In need of some incentives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stay at this hotel 4 or 5 nights per month. I really enjoy the bar, and Bill the bartender takes great care of us. Unfortunatly, the happy hour promotions have all but disappeared, and there is no reason to stay at the bar for dinner when there are so many options available within walking distance. I leave for work before breakfast opens at the hotel. Alex (front desk) kindly offeres me a coupon for a beer or glass of wine because I can't take advantage of the free breakfast. This perk has also gone away. I like the location of the hotel, and the staff is great, but it may be time to look elswhere for a place to stay that offers a couple of perks for frequent guests.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We like to know what our guest feel is necessary to frequently visit us. So please know we do have a promotion being launched this month. Our March Madness promotion for the NCAA basketball tournament beginning March 19th. We hope to continue to have more promotions to keep our loyal guest and patrons as yourself returning and keeping the relationships that has been established with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    94
    55
    29
    22
See reviews for
61
35
30
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy about this place at all. Furnishings seemed c. 1960's but the place seemed clean. The rooms were large, a desk was provided as was a lounge chair. There was separation between the shower and sink so it made it easier for two to get dressed. The bed was clean and comfortable, the shower hot and the water plentiful. The in-room coffee at least tasted like coffee. Unfortuntely there was no tea available. The TV reception was crappy. The hotel restaraunt hours were poor, if you don't get down to breakfast till later (10:00 am on week days) you're SOL and will need to go off site. Parking is $10/night in the garage. Front desk folks were friendly and very helpful.

We stayed here on our last night prior to a flight out of the DC area. It was fine for that but not luxury.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest on what we can improve. It is our goal to make sure every one of our guest has a great stay. We hope you chose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a convention across the bridge at National Harbor, wanting to save some cash on our trip. This place is a pretty awesome part of the Holiday Inn chain. There's a Giant right across the street, which is super convenient, in addition to the little cafe that is part of the massive lobby. The hotel pool is accessible year round, and there's a shuttle to take you out to King Street where all the shopping and restaurants are in the immediate area. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful when we needed them. The room was clean, the heat/air worked well, shower pressure was good, the mattresses were comfy, and checkout was easy.

Parking in the garage was a little bit tough. A lot of the spaces have massive beams in the way and you can't truly fit a car in the spot. They need to repaint the lines or something. We had a tough time finding parking late at night when we would come back, due in part to heaps of people staying the same weekend for some kind of track meet. Said track meet teenagers and their mothers were particularly loud and obnoxious in the hallways early in the morning through the afternoon, but we handled asking them to keep it down on our own, instead of getting staff involved.

Parking is 20 bucks a night (ouch), but we joined the Priority Club rewards thing (for free) and only paid 10 a night instead. This parking fee didn't appear on the bill that was put under the door, so I did end up having to call the hotel after seeing the charge difference at home just to be sure. Aside from the Giant, there wasn't much conveniently close by, and historic Alexandria has a tragically lousy parking situation, so if you're interested in staying here to see Alexandria, go in warmer weather and walk it. We spent our days by the Harbor so it didn't matter much, and it was worth the price (AAA discount!).

Room Tip: You can smell the pool in the lobby near the elevators to the parking garage, so steer clear if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to service our guests. I am glad to hear that are location worked out so well for you. Next time you stay with us try out the bicycles that we have available that our free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here during Inauguration weekend. The property is in close proximity to Reagan Airport and the Metro station (public transportation). They have a free shuttle that will take you to the airport or to Historic Alexandria. There are many places to shop and dine on the historic strip.
The staff were courteous and promptly responded to requests for extra towels, directions, etc.
There is a restaurant on-site. We ate breakfast there and it was ok and reasonably priced.
The property was clean (rooms, parking garage, elevators, restrooms).
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments of our staff and feedback on your experience. We are very glad that you experienced a great weekend here during the Inauguration. It's really good to know you will stay with us again. Let us know the next time you return we will give you some insider info on more of the local attractions for you to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I got this hotel on Priceline after reading the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised! I stayed here in November and have been meaning to write a review. Front desk was nice, allowed me to check in early so I could go spend the day in Baltimore. The room was clean, the only issue I had with it was that I did see a couple of bugs (silverfish?) while there. But that didn't bother me too much, I didn't spend much time in the room and just made sure my bags and belongings were closed tightly so the bugs didn't travel home with me. The location was perfect as I could walk across the street to Giant if I needed something. Also loved the airport shuttle so I could catch the metro into DC instead of driving. The parking deck was being renovated when I was there so parking was free. I was directed to park at the Crowne Plaza and catch the shuttle to the hotel. It wasn't a bad walk though so I only used this option at night. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We're glad that you were able to get to your destinations without any hassles during the parking lot renovations, which was the experience we desired for our guest during that time when we were improving our parking lot. We hope that the next time you come you will take advantage of the bikes that are free for our guest. You could tour the area or go on the nearby bike trail and enjoy the beautiful scenery. If you stay with us on a weekend there is also a farmers market nearby to pick up items you might not get in the local grocery store.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel recently renovated and spacious rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. King rooms have comfy chair and ottoman to relax in. Full service hotel with everything you need for business or leisure. Fitness room, indoor/outdoor pool and elevated private courtyard. Meeting rooms and ball rooms onsite plus coffee bar and full service restaurant. $10 underground parking on site. Close to Reagan airport. Hotel food is not stellar but there are plenty of wonderful restaurants within walking distance catering to all food needs. Grocery store across the street for anyone who wishes to pick up their own snacks. A decent stay, above average for a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside King room with a balcony! Small balconies overlook courtyard and provide nice sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you were able to getaway to relax and enjoy the view from you balcony room. We hope you would come back in the summer months to enjoy the room and have a view of the herb and vegetable garden recently planted which should be a really nice view. We hope you also take advantage of our bikes that available for the nearby bike trail or just to get around Old Town at your leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We checked in very late at night, took possession of the keys, and did not enter the room until later that night. I'm not sure what rooms people get who leave positive reviews but ours was awful. It had not been cleaned and the bedsheets were covered with someone else's hair. The lampshade on the desk was burned and the sink crusted with what looked like years of lime buildup. Needless to say we checked out as quickly as possible. Never again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I appreciate your feedback and affording us the opportunity to take corrective action. We take a great deal of pride in our operation and are continually striving to achieve the highest levels of guest satisfaction. Encounters such as the ones you experienced deter from our overall objective and as such are of great concern to us. In view of your dissatisfaction and our inability to rectify your issue by this venue our General Manager wishes to get more information from you and asks if you could contact the hotel personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.