We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in the middle of Old Alexandria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in the middle of Old Alexandria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hotel is clean, comfortable and conveniently located in Old Alexandria, VA. Not too far from a Metro station, convenient food store across the street, and fairly quiet neighborhood (except for the planes taking off from Reagan National Airport...) All in all, a pleasant place if you have to be close to Crystal City and do not want to pay the prices of hotels in Crystal City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    88
    51
    27
    22
See reviews for
53
31
30
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The staff is great. Initially we were sent to a double room. It was rank,musty. The clerk quickly accommodated us with a worn,yet clean,king room.There was no coffee pot and the iron leaked water. We requested a refrigerator. It was delivered without hesitation.
The bathroom grout was dingy.The toilet seal was gross.The WI-FI was terrible.The tv reception was awful. We realized the phone didn't work. Which was okay because we both had our mobiles. But, a friend left a message for us. We obviously didn't receive.
The hotel is very close to Washington National Airport. The gym is open 24 hours.There is a grocery store across the street.The shuttle service rocks.The beds are comfortable. Many local attractions/restaurants are in walking distance.
We requested a late check out to store our things while we completed touristy activities, the manager obliged. Our trip was pre-paid and non-refundable during the week of inauguration. Otherwise, we would have switched to the Sheraton Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear TrinaWal,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you liked our hotel location and the majority of features we provide. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for any shortcomings you may have experienced during your stay and in particular with your room amenities. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks for work. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, some of the best I’ve run into recently. The hotel is located about 1 mile from the King St., the ‘heart’ of Alexandria. During nice weather it’s a pleasant walk but if you don’t feel like walking they have a shuttle that runs every hour. It is, however, located close to the Potomac with very nice walking paths through the riverside parks. Airport shuttle runs twice an hour. The restaurant menu is rather limited but what they have is fresh and tasty. There is another small restaurant adjacent to the property – I only ate there once and wasn’t impressed. During the two weeks I only noticed one other person eating there. Exercise and pool area are nicely equipped. Rooms were clean, however, they are sadly in need of upgrading. The carpets and drapes are drab and the furniture outdated. WIFI was slow. Grocery store right across the street. Overall I was very pleased and would stay there again if the opportunity comes up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to give our guest great service. I am glad to hear that our location and restaurant was also a great experience. Next time you stay with us avail yourself of the bicycles we have free to for our guest to really get a feel of the area following the bike paths. Hope to see you again in the near future or when your travels permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

If your a history buff or you have friends in stationed in the area this is the place to stay! I found this hotel on a whim and to my surprise, the staff was extreamly friendly anf helpful. (Not something you experance when visiting places new england.)

A free shuttle runs to the airport which you can also pick up the metro (train/subway) to get around DC while your car stays parked under the hotel. A grocery store is right across the street if you wanted to dine on a budget, however I didn't need to. Nice area to walk around with many things to do. Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to service our guests. I am glad to hear that our location worked out so well for you. Next time you may want to include in your many things to do, our bicycles that we have available that are free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January. P.S. I booked this room on Priceline, so I don't know if they reserve the worst lot of rooms for those reservations. Either way, I spent about $100 for the night (including the $20 for parking!) and was VERY unimpressed. The lobby and bar looked fine, but the room was pretty grungy. There were stains on the carpet and the lighting was bad. The room was quite big, but poorly arranged. The TV was so far across the room that I couldn't really see it, and was secured to the stand so that it could not be rotated to watch from closer furniture. Additionally, they had a weird black square over CBS that prevented me from watching a playoff football game (why for a channel someone can get at home without cable??). Overall gloominess and dinginess, not worth my money. Its a decent location, but not directly in lively part of Alexandria. Not a great deal. Plus side- the front desk staff was really friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. I am sorry that you had an issue with your room decor and arrangement of the room. It is our goal to make sure every one of our guest has an absolutely fantastic stay. We will take your comments into consideration on any future renovations. We are sorry that you felt that we did not live up to that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for business. It was convenient to get to. The Wifi was AWFUL, it was really painfully slow. The bed was comfortable, seemed pretty clean, and the staff was nice. The parking lot is really small and the spots are incredibly tight which having an SUV rental car was a parking nightmare for me. There is a Safeway across the street, but it is very small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your comment on our hotel and services. Our hotel strives to give our guest the best services and accommodations. We do apologize for the inconvenience in reference to parking, our parking garage was being worked on at the time and had to be closed to for a short time. It is now completed, our parking space are suited for most cars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights on business and had a pleasant stay. The facility is very clean and nice, the staff was great too. The hotel is very close to the Patomac River, walking distance. Very close to Regan Airport as well with a complimentary shuttle to and from there. Good experience!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.