We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Alexandria visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Farmington hills, MI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our Alexandria visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We weren't familiar with the Alexandria / DC area so we could only go by reviewers comments. We chose this hotel and really enjoyed the entire experience. Very accessible to King street and the Metro. We used the hotel shuttle extensively. Everyone on the staff was great. They couldn't do enough to make our 4 day visit comfortable and fun. The facility is very nice and well maintained. We will return when we visit this area.

Room Tip: You can use the shuttle to make local travel much easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    94
    55
    28
    22
See reviews for
60
35
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is an older Holiday Inn but our room was clean and fine for 1 night. The only problem we encountered was finding parking around the hotel. The parking garage and fitness center are currently under repair and closed. Although they do offer alternative parking at the Crown Plaza it is several blocks away from this hotel. This Holiday Inn is an acceptable alternative if you want to be somewhat near old town and the Sheraton is full and the Hotel Monaco is too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Arriving on a sunday night, I was given a room key for a suite. Upon opening the door, the chain was on the door with someone inside yelling HEY.... I walked back to get another room. My second room, the key card did not work. After convincing the front desk that they needed to come with me to let me into the room, the key still did not work but the master key the guy had did. Next the light in the bathroom does not work and the shower does not drain. I stopped by the desk monday morning to alert them of these issues to which they were written into a log. They came and fixed the key card reader monday but failed to fix the light or drain. I assumed that even the cleaning person who moved the lamp from sitting on the toilet back to the table MIGHT have said something to maintenance?? Nope. Tuesday rolls around - still no light and no drain. Stopped at the front desk and expressed my disappointment. Tuesday during the day they resolved those issues. Wednesday comes, showering in my newly lit bathroom I notice there is mold under the soap holder in the shower. Sweet. Once I got out of the shower there was a bug crawling across the bed which I have never seen before. I am never going back and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASHINGTON,PA.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

we had a wonderful trip last may,2012. whenever we go to d.c. area we always plan on staying
at the holiday inn, alexandria.

very convenient in and out of d.c. and the surrounding area. found this hotel to be very good,
clean and very accomodating to us.would and have, recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had to stay here for work travel as accommodations were made by the office. This was THE WORSE HOTEL I have ever stayed in - period. The first room I was in had MOLD in it - on the vents - they were black. The second room had a public style toilet, various STAINS on the ironing board and BLOOD stains on the bathroom door and window curtains. These rooms are not cleaned and should be a health violation. There was also dust in the bathroom and the shower curtain rod was coming out of the tile. I wish this review allowed pictures because I have proof. I would NEVER recommend this hotel or the staff. I'm still disgusted with the company and the hotel!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My son and I had to book a last-minute hotel when our original plans upon arriving fell through. From the outside, the hotel looks very nice. I booked the hotel through Priceline, and maybe the hotel reserves the worst rooms for customers like us. I don't know, but the first room they gave us was, in a word, GROSS. There were two large stains on the carpet--one of which looked like Kool-Aid--and there was a big thread of carpet sticking up in the middle of the room. When I complained, we were immediately booked into a different room that, although less gross, still sported 2 very visible coffee stains AND an unknown whitish stain on the chair upholstery. In short:it's the kind of hotel room I wouldn't take my shoes off in. I mean--seriously? You don't anticipate people spilling things, and don't have some sort of method to remove stains? You're a HOTEL.

I'm tired of complaining, tired from the trip, and I suspect I'll just get another room with stains anyway (maybe that's all they have here). Can't wait to go to the other hotel we books in 2 days, but I'll NEVER stay here again. Yuck. This should be rated a two-star hotel. I've stayed in better Motel 6s.

Room Tip: Rooms #219 and #107 have stained carpets. Try any others but these two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights.
I would say this is one of the better Holiday Inns around, and for the money I am satisfied that we made the right choice.
The hotel is about 10 blocks walk from the town centre, but this is a nice walk along the waterfront through an affluent neighbourhood. A few blocks inland is slightly less well-off, but we didn't see a 'poor' area anywhere; I suspect this part of the town is all pretty expensive. Alternatively you can use the hotel's free shuttle into town (half hourly but not 24hrs)
The hotel also runs a half hourly shuttle to Ronald Regan where you can jump on the metro into DC - very easy. Or jump on the free King street trolley to the Metro two stops earlier.
The hotel itself was clean and welcoming, much more of a hotel than a motel. Parking underground is adequate, but they should do something about the parking fee of $20 (I'm not sure we were charged??) You can park in the street nearby for free, and it is safe enough.
The room was clean, with good facilities. Curtains were a touch tired, but otherwise we we're very happy with the room.
This is neither the Waldorf Astoria, nor your own home, but it is certainly not a cheap motel on the freeway. All round I would recommend this as a great base for anyone visiting DC on business or exploring the city.

Room Tip: We had a room at the top of the stairs, facing the front (supermarket right across the street). We t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.