We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shuttle service to transit system” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Hattiesburg
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great shuttle service to transit system”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We loved staying outside of dc. It was just a short scenic ride into anywhere. Hotel was beautiful & right across from grocery store to pick up goodies for room. Had fridge & microwave. We didn't dine there but took shuttle again to historic Alexandria. Tons of quant restaurants & shops. Will stay again when in dc area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    94
    55
    29
    22
See reviews for
61
35
30
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here one night and that was enough. Haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn in a long time and should have kept it that way. Our room was large, but not clean. An upholstered chair in our room had huge stains on it and on the throw pillow that was there. Would not sit on it as it looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time. The sheers too looked like they might have been white, however looked gray in appearance and dirty. We found a large smashed bug on them that looked like it had been there for a while. The walls were dirty as was the tile under the bathroom sink, the air conditioner did not work well and it felt cold and very damp. There is no complimentary breakfast and the continental breakfast is $9.99, we just had oatmeal and coffee off the menu, which cost us over $12. The front desk people, however, were very kind and accommodating and adjusted our bill after our complaints. It looks like it could be a great hotel if they updated by painting and doing thorough cleanings. I guess you get what you pay for as this was one of the cheaper priced hotels there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Harmony_peace,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased that you found our front desk staff to be kind and accommodating. Please accept my sincerest apology if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the room accommodations received. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had a nice pleasant stay at this hotel. There were 4 adults and we were placed in 2 rooms that were adjoined by a door for privacy and it was great! Room is standard pretty big size though and comfortable does need some updating and deep clean of the carpeting which is usual in any hotel I've stayed in you get slobs who stay in rooms and just dont care and trash places unfortunate but true! Restaurant on site is very pricey only had breakfast there twice all other meals we ate at restaurants along King Street and Prince Streets, very good restaurants especially Chadwicks!! The hotel does have a pool but unfortunatly my mother could not use it because it did not have steps for a person who is older and cant climb the wall to get out of it, so we didn't use it. There is an area you can sit outside by the pool there are tables and u can sit and have a nice cocktail. The bartender Bill was an absolute pleasure to sit and talk with all week and he made damn good drinks!!!! My mom is still raving about her cocktail of choice that he made her and no bartenders here back home in NJ can compete with!! We took a cab back and forth to DC for around $22 bucks each way, we thought it was much easier than having to take a shuttle to the airport then the MEtro in much to busy. Restaurant is across the street from a Giant food store AKA Stop and Shop, the cabs are lined up there every morning. They say theres a $ 20 parking fee for the underground parking garage however we did not get charged to use it. The hotel is a few blocks away from King and Queen streets in Ole Town where all the action is, but if you have a car theres a parking area on Prince street for $ 5.00. Would stay here again we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family and have kids or parents with you ask for the adjoining rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The holiday Inn in the historic district of Alexandria is a quality place to stay. The rates are good, the facilities are adequate but the service is the BEST anywhere in the area. Manager Delgado does a superb job of overall customer service but the two most important areas...reception and bar/restaurant service are what sets this hotel apart from others. Alex at the front deak is the epitome of a reception clerk and manager. Everything is ready for you when you arrive and check in takes less than 2 minutes...and he provides all the amenities you could ever need. He simply thinks of everything and provides it. Bill at the bar is the perfect bar tender. If you have been there once he remebers what your favorites are and it is on the bar before you can sit down. A very pleasant person, he will engage you to the extent you want and no more...A perfect place to stay for value and great service. S. Wallace

Room Tip: first bfloor are very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great location, nice desk staff, poor tired hotel. This is another holiday Inn property that needs some renovation. Room had a bad smell, found hair on the floor in the bathroom and the carpet in the room had many red stains through out the room, needless to say, I kept my flip flops on. Room had a fridge, which is a great amenity, but wasn't really well thought out, sitting in the corner on the floor. Rooms need to have additional power outlets or a power strip, Had to unplug the floor lamp to plug in my ipad and computer at the same time, phone I had to plug in, in the bathroom, hmm, gross. Free internet, also a great amenity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was there one night and had excellent service. The only complaint I do have is having to pay to park, I don't think if you are parking in their garage and are staying there I should be charged for parking. The food in the hotel was excellent too. We had dinner and breakfast there and had freat service both times. The room was very clean and while we were having dinner they even brought in a fridge (we didn't even request it lol) Loves the indoor/outdoor pool my son thought that was so cool to swin from one side inside to the other outside. They even gave me a little gift bag when I checked in as a Priority Club member. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here over a weekend recently while visiting a friend in the DC area. Not bad overall but it could use a little updating and renovation.

The good: The price was certainly below what I would expect from a hotel in the DC area. My room was clean and the bedding was good (not stained or dirty in appearance). To me, the room seemed huge - although I think I might be comparing it to some hotels I've stayed at in Europe. The location was easy to get to and the hotel is in the historic district of Alexandria (although not the historic center). The staff was friendly and the overall appearance of the place was pleasant. The parking area located underneath the hotel was sufficient - I received a discount on parking for being a Priority Club member. There's a grocery store across the street if you need a snack or drink.

The so-so: My room could definitely have used some updating - the carpet was stained in multiple places, the furniture was a little worn, the toilet paper dispenser was broken, the sink would leak constantly unless you turned the faucet just right, and the towel bar in the shower was partially removed. As I mentioned above, the hotel is in the historic part of Alexandria but it is about a 10-15 minute walk to King Street where all of the shops and restaurants are located - it's a quick drive, however. The hotel is located just south of Reagan National Airport. While this is convenient for those who fly in (there's an airport shuttle), the airplane noise was a little annoying at times. The hotel must accept pets because I saw a little pug running up and down the hallway - maybe the source of guest room carpet stains?

Overall, I would consider staying here again in the future. My so-so comments listed above certainly didn't warrant a phone call or complaint to the front desk -- just minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.