We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I travel frequently and spend over 75 nights a year on the road, many internationally. In all my travels there is no hotel anywhere in the world that provides better service and care than the HOLIDAY INN in Old town Alexandria Va, The manager Wanda Delgado is superb and has assembled a great service team. It starts at the front desk where Alex and Mo are simply the best of any in the world. When you walk in they already have your reservation made,key ready, room asigned and all the information you need ready to hand to you. I have never spent more than 2 minutes at the front desk when these two are on duty. The bar/grill area is also superbly managed and run by Bill. When I approach the bar he already has my favorite drink poured and ready for me. He constantly checks on all the customers and has a great service mentality, without being intrusive. AAAAA+ for this place and all its superb employees.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    93
    54
    28
    22
See reviews for
57
33
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Four couples rented 4 rooms. All rooms were very clean. Good size fridge in all. Suite was exceptionally large with dining room table, a bar and renovated bathroom. Regular rooms have old bathrooms, but they were in fine shape. Ask for a room overlooking pool courtyard which is much nicer than overlooking parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking pool courtyard which is much nicer than overlooking parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were at the property to attend a funeral and our rooms were filthy -mold in bathroom, stained carpets, and the had hundreds of kids there and didn't put them together in one area. It was that Close Up group and they ran and yelled and were terrors. Management didn't do anything to help out. Would never go back and we travel to that area monthly for business meetings.

Room Tip: Stay at Club Monaco
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Barbara D,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Very good value for a fine accomidation in a wonderful visit to OLD TOWN in Alexandria, VA. Our visit was short and we did not use all the facilities the property that were available but the staff wetre friendly and the hotel was quite good.

Room Tip: Great Value and so well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

The room is ok. Curtains are old and crusty. I saw a bug crawling on the ceiling that looked like a giant silverfish right before I was going to go to sleep and didn't sleep well at all thinking there were more in the room and would be crawling on me while I slept.
It got a little cold during the day and I tried to turn on the heater and discovered it wasn't plugged in. After removing the cover of the apparatus I found the cord tucked into the apparatus. Went to plug it in and there wasn't a plug big enough in the room. It was the big kind you'd use for a dryer.
I'm only here for one night and I'm greatful it isn't more than that.
Beware or holiday inn hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear salywgn,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service room accommodations which fell below your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a nice clean, appears to be recently renovated, Holiday inn property. The decor is modern. With government rate booked online you will get coupon for free breakfast (and no, breakfast is not free or offered to customers without the coupon so be sure to book a rate that includes breakfast and that you get the coupon at checkin!). Appears to have many suites because most of group I was traveling with were upgraded from rooms to suites. This was a nice feature to have the microwave, mini fridge, etc., especially as there is a Giant Food grocery immediately across the street. We went across the street for their salad bar several times during the week. Although there's a shuttle offered, it was a nice walk down to Old Town Alexandria with an abundance of shopping and dining choices. The only thing that seemed to be off was thin ceiling/floors as I could hear every step from guests in the room above me in the middle of several nights. I turned on music at a low volume which made me able to get back to sleep. Otherwise, a fine stay! Very nice workout room and indoor pool, unfortunately the hotel spa is now closed and filled in as a 'rock garden' with potted plants :(.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. There are a variety of different layouts. Although I booked a suite (a few dollar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Myself, my wife, and our 2 boys stayed here for 4 nights over Easter break. First of all, let me stress that the location is great. You are a short walk to King Street which is the main attraction of Old Town Alexandria. The hotel will shuttle you to and from the Metro. The customer service was very good. Having only used the Metro once before, the front desk was very helpful in helping me navigate into DC via the Metro. Also, the hotel ran out of bagged coffee for the rooms 2 of our 4 days. In lieu of the in room coffee, the staff delivered coffee to our room free of charge. Parking was easy, as I was always able to secure surface parking, and never had to use the ramp.
As with most reviews I do have a couple of negatives to point out. First of all, the front doors were not automatic sliding doors. This may not sound like a big deal, but with 2 suitcases, 2 duffel bags, and a computer bag on the luggage cart it was not the easiest thing to maneuver through 2 sets of push doors. Also, the hotel advertises a hot tub, but from the looks of the hot tub it hasn't been used it quite a while as it was being used as a planter stand in the pool room.
Overall, it was a good experience, and yes I would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.