We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay. Friendly service. Good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer!
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay. Friendly service. Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in the Historic District this weekend. Our room was immaculate upon arrival and we slept well (no noise whatsoever). We enjoyed two nice meals in the Bistro on First including breakfast and dinner. Our server, Lahbib, served us for both of our meals and he was exceptionally professional and attentive. Kim at the front desk was friendly and accommodating. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    125
    72
    36
    28
See reviews for
83
49
30
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
240 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for a recent conference and found the rooms nicely decorated, clean, and most importantly, quiet. The staff was helpful, the tv selections adequate, and the workout room nicely available.

The downside of this hotel is that it isn't near a metro and you are at the mercy of the shuttles to get anywhere. I waited a half hour for the shuttle at the airport and then was nearly denied a ride when a flight crew showed up and was accomodated first (very irritating). There was also a shuttle to King's Street, but nothing that could get you to the major DC attractions. In the end, I found myself taking a taxi a few times just to easily get where I needed to go for business.

The bed is comfortable but the mini-pillows are annoying. They are marked soft and firm, but I really couldn't tell a difference between them and they were all uncomfortable. I was also disappointed to find shampoo, but no conditioner. One day my ice bucket was not changed, although a new plastic sleeve was laying on top.

Overall the hotel is fine, but I wouldn't expect DC luxury.

Room Tip: A third floor room overlooking the courtyard was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easton, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed this past summer to see the local attractions in DC, but found we loved Alexandria! This hotel was located not so far away from King Street where it seems that most of the tourist action happens in Alexandria. The hotel staff was very helpful about getting around the area and making suggestions for dinner reservations. The rooms and hallways were always kept clean and the breakfast was a fantastic value. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

don't listen to the negative reviews. I stayed at this hotel and drove by car into dc daily in about 15 minutes. has a massive supermarket accross the street, shuttle buses every hour to the airport and to king street, an indoor/outdoor pool which my kids loved and lots of on street parking. It wasn't very full so maybe at capacity it is more hectic but it was half of what you are going to pay in dc itself

Room Tip: book on hotwire for a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Good
• Got 50% off advertised price by using Priceline Name Your Own Price!
• Free shuttle to airport/metro takes you to DC.
• Free shuttle to King Street, main drag of old town Alexandria.
• Clean, ac worked, no funny smells.
• Check in and check out was very quick.
• We were staying during hurricane Irene and the way home was still blocked. The front desk allowed us a late check out to accommodate us.
• Allows pets for a $50 nonrefundable pet fee.
• Giant Supermarket across the street for staples, but don’t buy anything perishable because you do not have a refrigerator or microwave.
• Decent gym. Had three treadmills in good condition.
• Good neighborhood and close restaurants.

Not So Good
• Parking – The parking looks like a scary underground dungeon. The clearance is posted at 6’2”. We have a dodge ram pickup truck with normal tires. The top of our truck scraped the clearance bar because they put speedbumps right under the bar. It’s a tight fit for parking spaces and not well laid out at all or well lit.
• No refrigerator, No microwave – You have to pay extra to get them and its first come first serve.
• Airport shuttle service to the airport takes forever. They say every 30 minutes but its more like every 45 minutes to an hour. One shuttle told us we had to wait for the next one because the American Airline crew was priority. We ended up waiting almost 2 hours to get back to the hotel from the airmort.
• There are only about 10 channels. ESPN, HBO, Cartoon Network, TNT, local channels.

But overall we had a good experience as it suited our needs to tour D.C.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a view, ask for one not facing the Giant Supermarket or a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My father was at a conference and this was the hotel his workplace placed him in - I decided to tag-a-long to visit Washington.

Staff weren't overly helpful upon our arrival. We had a lot of bags + a cooler, I had to hunt for a trolley, and when I was clearly having problems trying to hold the door open while I tried to wheel the (broken wheeled) trolley, the staff just watched. Thanks guys.

Our room wasn't locked when I got upstairs which set off a few alarms in my mind... but after a few double-checks, everything was fine and it locked properly. The room was beautiful, although the set-up was a little odd: if you're sitting at the desk, you can't see the TV because of the cabinet, and the AC is level and right beside the bed which can make things overly chilly at night. Comfortable beds though.

I sleep with ear plugs, so not sure what the sound was like in the halls.

Location is about a 20min walk to the nearest metro station, then a 20min ride into Washington. But the hotel does have a shuttle to the airport (where you can catch the metro) which runs every half hour. General note for travelling in Washington, watch the times you travel because if you're travelling during rush-hour, your trip back to the hotel isn't exactly cheap.

Having the grocery store across the street is nice.

Hotel's close to the airport, but you don't hear planes - although you see one every so often.

Didn't try the breakfast, so can't comment on that one.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Not sure we'd pay the full-price if we were to visit Washington again, but it's a solid choice to use as a home-base for getting into Washington.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had a terrible stay in this hotel. We were moving to Alexandria and needed a place to stay overnight with our cat. Very few hotels accept cats (which I totally understand), but this Holiday Inn does, so we booked the room without even considering the reviews. MISTAKE.

The walls and ceiling were paper thin, so we heard all the partying going on above, below, and next to us. We called the front desk twice about the noise, but nothing was done. The air conditioner leaked, so the floor was soaking wet (a hazard since we were staying there with our cat and a 2 year old). The shower was moldy, the room smelled musty, and we all left with strange bites after sleeping there. Finally, we got in late and had called ahead to request a late arrival and make sure a crib would be in our room for our arrival, since we would be transferring our sleeping son from the car right into the crib. When we arrived at 10:30pm, the crib was not in the room. It took about 30 minutes for the crib to arrive, by which time our son was in hysterics.

No one helped with our bags or even held the door open, even though they saw me struggling through with lots of bags, a litter box, a cat, a toddler, etc.

This was EASILY one of the worst hotels stays I've ever had, and I've traveled all over the world and stayed in some pretty awful places.

The only positive thing I can say about this stay was that they allow cats, and the room did not smell or look like cats had been staying there. We similarly were respectful of future guests and kept our cat in the bathroom for the night so that she wouldn't shed on the carpet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.