We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, awful, awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful, awful, awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had a terrible stay in this hotel. We were moving to Alexandria and needed a place to stay overnight with our cat. Very few hotels accept cats (which I totally understand), but this Holiday Inn does, so we booked the room without even considering the reviews. MISTAKE.

The walls and ceiling were paper thin, so we heard all the partying going on above, below, and next to us. We called the front desk twice about the noise, but nothing was done. The air conditioner leaked, so the floor was soaking wet (a hazard since we were staying there with our cat and a 2 year old). The shower was moldy, the room smelled musty, and we all left with strange bites after sleeping there. Finally, we got in late and had called ahead to request a late arrival and make sure a crib would be in our room for our arrival, since we would be transferring our sleeping son from the car right into the crib. When we arrived at 10:30pm, the crib was not in the room. It took about 30 minutes for the crib to arrive, by which time our son was in hysterics.

No one helped with our bags or even held the door open, even though they saw me struggling through with lots of bags, a litter box, a cat, a toddler, etc.

This was EASILY one of the worst hotels stays I've ever had, and I've traveled all over the world and stayed in some pretty awful places.

The only positive thing I can say about this stay was that they allow cats, and the room did not smell or look like cats had been staying there. We similarly were respectful of future guests and kept our cat in the bathroom for the night so that she wouldn't shed on the carpet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    109
    64
    31
    23
See reviews for
69
40
30
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days for business. There are few bonuses about this hotel:

- Great location in decent neighborhood
- Grocery store across the street plus numerous restaurants in the area
- Shuttle that takes you to & from the Reagan Airport...you can catch the Metro there
- Comfortable beds

Here are few things we didn't like:
- The breakfast and food is not good. It wasn't part of our hotel package but we paid for it separately because it was convenient. It looks great from far away...but the eggs, potatoes, and sausage were COLD the 2 times we ate there. I cannot believe that with the amount of money they charge for the rooms and food, that they don't buy heaters to keep these food items warm. The coffee tastes bad too...very weak. The service was poor in the restaurant too. The lady told us that we couldn't eat there because we didn't have the "coupons" and it was for military. I am military, but she didn't bother to ask. She also didn't bother to ask if we wanted to pay for it separately, we offered that up.
- It costs $20 for parking

The only thing we liked about this hotel was the location and the shuttle service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We had a family trip to D.C. recently and stayed here. Though a Metro stop is not close, the shuttle service to DCA made it easy to make this our basecamp. The rooms were clean and the service was great. We were very happy with the AAA discount we received. All in all, we thought it was a good value and would stay there again without concerns.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I have been a priority club member since about 1999 or so, so Holiday Inns are always my first choice. This particular Holiday Inn turned out to be my favorite in the DC area of a period of several years of traveling there.

For starters, I always get upgraded to a suite. This is probably due to my membership status, but the fact is that this particular Holiday Inn is the only place that consistently upgrades me. And the rooms and accomodations are always nice.

The staff is superb. They are always friendly and helpful. The lobby is warm and inviting. There's a decent bar and small restaurant right there, and a cafe on the ground floor. If none of that suits you, there's is a Giant supermarket right across the street, and a number of decent restaurant nearby.

I don't look for much when I travel on business, but this place always surpasses my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIlwaukee, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Holiday Inn and Suites in the historic district of Alexandria was a great value during our stay near DC. We were there with our two kids (ages 11 and13) and really can't think of a single complaint. The building/rooms are renovated and the beds were super comfy. The shuttle service was perfect - on time every time and easy to deal with. Being a busy time of year, the hotel was hectic but they handled the crowds very well. The front desk staff was exceptional - very focused on service. To get to DC, take the shuttle to Reagan National Airport and then pick up the Metro from there - way easier than hiking down to Alexandria's King Street Metro (about a 30 minute brisk walk).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanthaburi, Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel. I had been flying for 21 hrs and was exhausted.
I may be exaggerating a bit, but I think this hotel has the best beds in the world. Nice touch having both soft and firm pillows available.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

There used to be a holiday inn on King Street in the heart of the historic district but that one is now a fancifully redone Kimpton, called the MONACO. This Holiday Inn is about a mile from King street in an area it shares with the Crowne Plaza, the Sheraton Suites and a Best Western. The area has federal style buildings, and the Holiday Inn, a long low rise has always had a nice inviting presence in this neighborhood. With a recent redo of its interior, it is now a pleasant place to stay, as well. The spacious lobby is comfortable, if not luxurious, with colorful touches. The front desk staff are quite nice and helpful. 2 elevators wisk you to a long corridor which threads together two parts of the building.. The lobbies are colorful with modern rugs. At the end of the corridor are 3 other elevators and another right angle corridor which takes you to the rooms over the hotel's conference center. Rooms facing the interior starting about midway down the first corridor have views of a pleasant inner courtyard which opens onto a indoor-outdoor pool. There are French Doors to a small balcony with these views. The rooms have light wood furniture and the now deriquer white comforters with a colorful sash. There is a bench at the foot of the bed. Altogether quite attractive. Unfortunately, in my wife and my room(my son had his own), the light textured carpet had a number of deep stains. In calling the front desk, there was no other king bedded room near our son;s and so we stayed. My wife gently pressured the clerk for compensation and we were awarded with 3 coupons for a full breakfast each of the mornings we were there. The big negative in these rooms are the tiny bathrooms with poor lighting at the outer sink. And, at 10 AM, there was not much hot water in the shower, a big downer for me. Breakfast was nice, but order from the menu as the buffet was a bit down and out. At the conference end of the first floor corridor is a privately run coffee shop open till 11 PM, with coffee, teas, pastries and simple sandwiches(and some breakfast items). We did not visit the pool area. There is a nicely hidden supermarket across the street from the hotel's entrance. We found parking on a weekend on the street. The hotel has a indoor parking garage at $20 a nigh t for guests. There are decent restaurants in the area, if you do not want to head down to King Street, about an 8 minute drive. The hotel offers shuttle service to King . Free internet in the rooms does not work.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Address: 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.