We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galae Thai

Galae Thai
215 Swamp Fox Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Eisenhower East)
703.960.1606-7
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 648 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Eisenhower East
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The food was wonderful! I liked the fact that, while the meal wasn't rushed, it was hot when it was served. As far as atmosphere's go, it was a lovely, cozy place with great service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great food and drinks. Right across from our hotel. Try the drunken noodles. Drinks were also excellent. Nice atmosphere. $100 for a family of 4.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good Food, Average Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Tucked away in the Hoffman Center, Galae Thai is a nice option if you're catching a show at the AMC, or if you're stuck in traffic heading over the Wilson Bridge and decide to grab dinner close by while the traffic clears (which is what we did).

The decor and setting of Galae Thai is relatively upscale - unfortunately, the music doesn't match (Pop Top 40?). We were greeted and seated with a smile, but overall, the service was very average - not terrible, but not overly friendly or attentive, either.

Really, the food is what's worth visiting for (isn't that all that matters?). From start to finish, our meal was delicious. The Tom Kha soup was spot on. My Drunken Noodles and my daughter's Pad See Ew were awesome. Dessert was sticky rice with mango, which took top marks as best interpretation of sticky rice with mango that we've enjoyed at any of the area Thai restaurants.

Great overall experience, and we'll keep coming back for the soup and sticky rice alone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale City, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Panang is to die for...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I used to work near this Thai place, so I visited it on a regular basis. I went to the movie theater near the restaurant recently and got a chance to come here for dinner and it did not disappoint. The atmosphere is great, whether dining with someone or sitting at the bar to eat alone. I love love LOVE their Panang Curry. It's so well done! The service is great, the servers are friendly, and I've never had something I don't like here. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Consistency in Everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I like change, sometimes. But I also like some things that are great, not to change! That is Galae Thai. Everything from the warm greeting, professional service, Thai interior, friendly ambiance, and, most importantly, authentic Thai cuisine still amazes me after coming here for the past several years. We have enjoyed much of the menu, with nothing disappointing. Thanks for my little piece of Thai heaven!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galae Thai also viewed

 

Been to Galae Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galae Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.