We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Nakorn

Thai Nakorn
8733 F Cooper Rd., Alexandria, VA 22309
703-360-8288
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Shenandoah Valley
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This little gem of a restaurant serves wonderful authentic Thai food. Many of the dishes on the menu are unique to the region of Thailand originally home to the owners/managers. However, the usual Thai choices are available as well. All dishes are prepared spicy but request mild seasoning and your wish will be granted. The service is impeccable and friendly. Plus, the restaurant is clean. Prices of the dishes are reasonable. For example, a small bowl of lemon grass soup with chicken is $3.95. But more important, the small is on the large-size with it actually an American vegetable bowl priced at $5.95. Take-out is available as well. For extra savings, copies of the take-out menu contains a 10% coupon. The display is located near the exit/entrance door.

As for location, you'll find Thai Nakorn in a small strip mall approximately a block off of Route 1/Richmond Hwy. on Cooper Road. If you are staying at the Mount Vernon/Fort Belvoir Best Western, it is within walking distance. Simply head towards the McDonalds; go to the stop light; turn right onto Cooper Road; the strip mall will be on your left; Thai Nakorn is located in the center 8733-F perpendicular to Cooper Road.

Enjoy your meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Thai Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have dined in at this restaurant and had food delivered and the food is absolutely delicious. I have always received the food hot with fresh and tasty vegetables nicely seasoned. The Thai tea is to die for, my eight year old grand daughter absolutely loves it (she tried to get me to make it at home). The sticky rice with mango is a must for desert!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Thai-licious :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Fresh food, family run, modest atmosphere yet stellar menu presentation and vibrant tastes. E.g. crab fried rice, any drunken noodle dish, culminating w/ mango sticky rice as dessert. Overall, a worthwhile dining experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Thai a licious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

One of the best!! I have eaten authentic Thai in downtown Bangkok and this restaurant is WOW, WOW,WOW!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Lunch or Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We've eater here for a quick lunch as well as for dinner. It is a small place and seems family run. The food is always fresh and well seasoned. I like the chicken larb -- a good amount of veggies add crunch to the ground chicken with a nice kick from red pepper. My husband twice has gotten the drunken noodle (pad ke mao) and liked the nice char that their sitr-fry method adds to the noddles. We'll be regulars here as it's right down the road... The also have a few nice wines by the glass, somewhat unusual for a small thai restaurant like this. A nice bonus at dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Nakorn also viewed

 

Been to Thai Nakorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Nakorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.