We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant and impressive place for a wedding reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Masonic National Memorial

Washington Masonic National Memorial
101 Callahan Drive, Alexandria, VA 22301
703-683-2007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Monuments/ Statues, History Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A very visible tribute to George Washington stands on King Street in Alexandria, Virginia.
Dixon, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An elegant and impressive place for a wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The old and impressive building echoed with music, laughter and conversation as we celebrated the wedding of two wonderful people.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    72
    23
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Worth the trip over the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I love this Memorial. I think it is better than the Washington Monument. The view is from on top is amazing. The exhibits are interesting. Even though it isn't free, it is still worthwhile to visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL VIEWS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

had been wanting to visit the memorial for years, and just hadn't made time, even when I had been in Alexandria. it's a great old building with lots of history, and the tour is well presented and interesting. you get an explanation of the masons, besides the history of the building. you also visit all floors and are allowed to go outside on the observation level. you have unbelievable views of Alexandria and the area. I rode the DC metrorail to the Alexandria king street station and just walked a couple of blocks up the hill to the monument. I always buy a weekly metrorail short trip pass[think it was $31 this year] and ride all week long, great bargain.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
167 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Those Mysterious Masons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a must-see if you have ever looked into what the Masons are all about. There are murals, paintings, artifacts and a good docent tour to be had here. Up on a hill, but there's lots of parking

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalkoy, Turkish Cyprus
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“For Dan Brown readers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Although I have been to DC several times, I did not know about this building until I read Dan Brown's "The Lost Symbol". It is an amazing building, with fantastic views from the observation deck. Dedicated to Masonic Temples, from George Washington's time the tour will take you through basic rituals and explain about Freemasons history with artifacts from the time of George Washington, Check the internet for guided tour times. There is no access to upper floors without the guide.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Masonic National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Washington Masonic National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Masonic National Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.