We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington Masonic National Memorial

George Washington Masonic National Memorial
101 Callahan Drive, Alexandria, VA 22301
703-683-2007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 70 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very visible tribute to George Washington stands on King Street in Alexandria, Virginia.
Milton, Vermont
Level Contributor
210 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Can't Miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Pretty interesting monument like structure which is right near the King St Metro and Amtrak Station. Beautiful grounds to walk around and do some photography. Excellent sunset scenes with the sun setting behind the temple creating a nice silhouette.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    108
    29
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Interesting Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This memorial is certainly worth a couple hours of your time. Very interesting historical facts. Parking is free. Just $5 to go in. The building is remarkable! Hope you enjoy as much as I did.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Beautiful overall - snowed day we visited! Was Holy Week so they didn't have the organ mini-recital. that was the only disappointing part

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Had to check it out..so-so tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After passing the Masonic temple so many times either on the Metro or the Amtrak station, I felt compelled to go check it out. The building is impressive, especially sitting atop the big hill facing Old Town Alexandria. The lobby also is very cool. I thought paying the $8 to take the tour would reveal even more. Our guide seemed very nice, but he was seemingly terrified of public speaking. We really did not learn much about the Mason's or the building itself. The one nice perk was an elevator trip to the top of the tower. The view of Alexandria was terrific from up there. I'm glad we did go scratch this one off our list. But if you haven't visited most of the other great sites of DC, I would not go too far out of my way to come see this attraction.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Last minute add to our itinerary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I'm glad we went! It's a wonderful tribute to George Washington with tidbits of history that I probably would not have learned if we didn't go to this memorial.
We went shortly before closing time, so we did not do the tour.
Small child and teenager both enjoyed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Washington Masonic National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to George Washington Masonic National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington Masonic National Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.