We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of walking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Masonic National Memorial

Washington Masonic National Memorial
101 Callahan Drive, Alexandria, VA 22301
703-683-2007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: Monuments/ Statues, History Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A very visible tribute to George Washington stands on King Street in Alexandria, Virginia.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lots of walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Plan on spending HOURS exploring this building of history. Every floor has something interesting and full of history in it and if there was a mason in your family, bring proof and they;ll look it up in the library for you if you call and make arrangements ahead of time. It's right across the street from the Alexandria VRE and King Street Metro so it's easy to take public tranport or the drive there. After you're done (we took 5 hrs) you can go on King Street and hit some restaurants or take the free trolley up and down King Street to find someplace else of interest like the Torpedo Factory.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    77
    23
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Huge Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great museum, you can pay some money to see the museum or pay a little more to get a tour too. You can go all the way to the top on a slanted elevator :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tour is $8 includes overview of four floors of the memorial and trip to the top to look out over the city. Easy and free parking.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Views in NoVa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went here to check the location for my wedding. The venue is gorgeous! It's a bit loud inside though, so any couples looking to tie the know, just know that you'll have to scream to be heard (echos). Honestly though, one of the most stunning places I've visited in the area, and the views are astounding.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“They Took Out George and It's All About George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I tried for awhile to write this review and couldn't find the attraction anywhere on Trip Advisor. I finally emailed them - it's because they have the wrong title! It's the GEORGE Washington Masonic Memorial, and boy is it all about George. There are so many memorials in Washington, this one is easy to overlook but what a cool place it is. It sits up on a hill at the top of King Street in Alexandria. Easy access by metro from anywhere (King Street Station), or by foot from Old Town. The view from the top of the stairs is excellent, but has nothing on the view from the observation deck - 360 degree views including DC. Awesome!

First, we happened t be there at opening time - 10:00 - which also corresponded with the first tour. (I believe the tours are at 10:00, 11:30, 1:30 and 3:00 - but check just to make sure.) We were planning on the $5 walk around but decided on a whim on the $8 tour which was a guided tour and included the observation deck. Excellent choice! (Apparently, no discounts except for children.)

The tour guide was very informative, and actually is a Mason. The information on the Masons, the founding fathers and specifically George Washington and the monument itself was fascinating. Like how they wouldn't take out a loan to build it so built it in sections when they had the money - perhaps a financial management lesson for us all. Yes, the clipping of George's hair was a bit odd, but I guess it was something they did at the time - all the better to appreciate that we don't do it now. The information about the numerous groups related in some way to the Masons was pretty cool. Some I had heard of, some I had not and some were really intriguing - Veiled Prophets anyone? The elevators are a neat thing to see as they start off on different sides of the building and end up just a few feet from each other -meaning, they go up at an angle. We couldn't feel it but apparently some people can. The observation deck takes you outside - you can walk all the way around and enjoy the expansive view. It was a bit cold and windy but it was December so to be expected.

After the tour ends, you can wander in certain parts, peak in certain rooms and visit the gift shop. I was a bit disappointed in the gift shop, it's not as touristy as some, but if you want books on George or the Masons, or Masonic materials it probably has what you want. And we got lost in the hallways until we noticed the little directional signs periodically posted on the walls pointing to the parking lot.

We stumbled into this memorial and we were impressed and plan to return. There were children on the tour who seemed to enjoy it - in the 7 or 8 and above range. A lot of the tour is spent wandering around exhibits and reading captions, labels and short information tags so bring your glasses.

I

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Masonic National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Washington Masonic National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Masonic National Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.