We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
134 N. Royal Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-746-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 70 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Pana, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

Unique experience...loved it! The ambiance of the place was awesome...there was even a guy walking around singing in period dress..!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quick Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 NEW

I've been to D.C. several times and am now expanding my perimeter of exploration. A friend and I decided to do this tour. Our tour guide, Jo, was lovely and very informative. It was nice to say I've been here since it is historically rich with George Washington. It was just my friend and I on tour so it went pretty quickly. After we saw what all the floors had to offer we went next door to the still functioning tavern for lunch.

Visited June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quick Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I came to this museum a couple days ago. My guide was a lovely lady who gave us a lot of information about Gadsby's Tavern. The tour was quick (about 30 min). Unfortunately, due to some problems with the pipes, we couldn't check the top floor.

Visited June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The (not so) Good Old Days - Inns before the Motel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

An interesting museum of colonial life. The guided tour was interesting and well-presented. A good insight into eighteenth century life.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great insight to history of upper and lower class of the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

knowing that our nations fathers sat on those rooms. The volunteers at the museum give a great insight to the history of the building and why rooms were separated as they were.

Visited June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadsby's Tavern Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.