We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
134 N. Royal Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-746-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“worth a stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

very well preserved, the tour guide was a wealth of information (building history, what it was used for, back ground of owner, who (famous) frequented the establishment) well worth a stop, very historical

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Worth a visit, although to British minds the attempt by the guide to "role-play" grated a little.There are many historic sites in Alexandria and I would include this one on your itinerary

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Life in the 17 and 18 hundreds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

If you're coming to Old Town Alexandria because of the historic charm you owe it to yourself to visit Gadsby's. Not having lived in the 1800's ;-) i presume the presentations are period correct and, for me at least, interesting. And since you're at the museum why not get a meal in the Tavern for a bit more of the experience? You can round the day out with a tour of the Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary and take the evening ghost tour.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A favorite stop for our out of town guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Gadsby's is a great stop for visitors and locals with out of town guests. The entrance fee is minimal. The tour guides enthusiastic and informative. The Museum gives you a good idea of how a traveler experienced Alexandria in the early years of the city. The place was an important location for significant events in those early years as well. The Museum often recreates those special events, and if you are lucky enough to be there at the right time, I highly recommend them. I like to finish the tour with lunch at the tavern so my guests get the full Old Towne experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I was really looking forward to this after reading good reviews. We reached at the museum in the afternoon. It wasn't at all crowded. We were greeted by a little girl in period dress as soon as we entered which was a surprise, but a good one. We entered into the tiny gift shop and asked for the tour. We bought 2 tickets (5$ per person, 1$ off if you have AAA membership) and he directed us back to the little girl, who directed us again to one of the rooms right behind her. We then, very quickly realized that ALL the docents were kids. Please don't get me wrong, we loved them and appreciated their effort. They did the best they could, but I believe our experience would have been much different if we had an adult docent guide us. As for the museum, it's filled with history. Two young girls were demonstrating ice-cream making, which was fun.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadsby's Tavern Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.