We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile and enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
134 N. Royal Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-746-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: History Museums
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worthwhile and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 NEW

The receptionist and the tour guides were very friendly . We came early in the week, the tour groups were small, & were able to answer many questions after they took us to the various rooms. Learned how important political debates and plans were held there and in similar places in the colonies. My only disappointment was I was hoping to get some time in the tavern's original kitchen, but that wasn't part of the tour, as a small restaurant owner, I would have been fascinated by that. Also on the Key to the City Pass which you can get at the Visitor's Center, nearby on King's Street. ($10 for admission to several historic sites)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hammonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our guide, William, was friendly and engaging. He made the tour interesting and was honest when he didn't quite know the answer to a question. Learning the history of the tavern and the times and not solely having things focused on Washington made it more interesting for me.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Enjoyed seeing the inn and tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went on a Friday afternoon to the museum(inn and tavern). They close at 5 pm with the last tour starting at 4:45. The tour lasts for 30 minutes so guess that last tour goes over closing time. It's only $5 admission, and you get a knowledgable and enthusiastic guide to take you around. You are shown the public tavern area plus the more private dining room, the assembly room (ballroom), and the sleeping quarters as well as the public room where Washington ate and Jefferson had his inaugural dinner and other prominent men also ate and debated. The furnishings are true to the Colonial period. This is not a huge destination stop, but it is definitely worth the 30 minutes and the $5. Note there are two sets of steep stairs to the second and third floors but they have good handrails.
We were finished with our tour at 4:45 and the building next door, the tavern, was not open for meals until 5:30, but they let us look and take photos and served us a drink in the courtyard.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We went on a tour of this museum because we missed our boat, literally, to go to Mt. Vernon. Nice little tour. Takes about 30 minutes. Gives you a taste of what it was like to travel in the 1700's.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We used AAA to get a discount. We were the only ones on the tour which was nice. Interesting to stand were George Washington and Thomas Jefferson did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadsby's Tavern Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gadsby's Tavern Museum to your Saves list