We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
134 N. Royal Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-746-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 38 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: History Museums
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Bluffton, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love the history of this town and Gadsby's seemed to fit "the story" of "Old Alexandria". A lot to see and a lot of stairs to climb, but worth it. Our guide was great and our evening "ghost tour" brought us back to Gadsby's for even more history/stories.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    32
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting bit of history...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a lovely tour of this tavern...lots of interesting information. Tour guide was a wonderful older gentleman who was very funny. Especially loved the two "ballrooms"...and the presidential history! A must visit! Next time I hope to eat at the Tavern (it was closed during the hours I visited).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Colonial and Early Federal Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This tavern, which I wish we had had time to eat at was a wonderful glimpse into Colonial life. In addition it was a site for early social events for Presidents Washington, Jefferson, and Madison. Jefferson's inaugral dance was held here, for instance. Another aspect that added to this building is that it is still used for community dances and social events. What a sense of history! Great value for $5!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Small yet quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed going to this museum. Only three of the rooms are furnished, the rest are empty. It is quite small, so I don't think I would make a separate trip just for this. However, it was nice to go to the museum and then follow that with a trip to the tavern for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas/fort worth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stepping into history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Interesting building and guide made me aware of the history that took place on these streets. Starting with George Washington. The guide showed us a glimpse into early american experience. Enjoyable tour

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadsby's Tavern Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.