We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Colonial and Early Federal Tavern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
134 N. Royal Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-746-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 66 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Colonial and Early Federal Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This tavern, which I wish we had had time to eat at was a wonderful glimpse into Colonial life. In addition it was a site for early social events for Presidents Washington, Jefferson, and Madison. Jefferson's inaugral dance was held here, for instance. Another aspect that added to this building is that it is still used for community dances and social events. What a sense of history! Great value for $5!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    45
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Small yet quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed going to this museum. Only three of the rooms are furnished, the rest are empty. It is quite small, so I don't think I would make a separate trip just for this. However, it was nice to go to the museum and then follow that with a trip to the tavern for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas/fort worth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stepping into history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Interesting building and guide made me aware of the history that took place on these streets. Starting with George Washington. The guide showed us a glimpse into early american experience. Enjoyable tour

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover, pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gadsby's Tavern Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great food at lunch at good prices. Go around 11:30AM. Get Key to City book ($9) at Visitor's Center on King St near waterfront. Gets you $5 off meal and free entrance to other historic sites. Went back again for the Ale battered Cod for kunch.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing History and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As the waiter said--"George probably sat here", that started our historic evening. The tavern is really charming, and the food is fantastic, a not to miss when in Alexandria

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadsby's Tavern Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.