We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candlelight tour.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
134 N. Royal Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-746-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 32 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Candlelight tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was the best part of our tour. We saw a colonial dance demonstration and could participate if we wanted to.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    33
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Candlelight tour was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I would recommend this to anyone! Loved the English country dance demonstration, the hot chocolate sample, and picked up a beautiful pewter mug, as well.

My husband and I plan on coming back to visit again, but maybe during the daylight, just to experience the atmosphere a bit differently.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Love this tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is my fave among the 4 sites we visited, too bad the adjacent Gadsby Tavern Restaurant was closed for special function, I would have loved to dine there too. We sampled some chocolate here too part of the historic division of Mars and the Historic Alexandria Candlelight tour. We enjoyed period music and dancing just as George Washington did. The tavern was built in 1785 and the other building was built as a hotel back in 1792, dont miss Room 8 and hear the story about a young woman who succumbed to a desease while traveling with her husband in 1816

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Nice overview of hospitality in the 18th century”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

For an interesting history of hospitality in the U.S., this is a good spot. It's reasonable at $5 each (a $1 discount for AAA and AARP) and relatively short (45 minutes). 5 presidents visited, cool to walk where they did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Gadsby's is Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Gadsby's Tavern and Museum is a must see when visiting Old Town Alexandria. The museum is to the left of the tavern and is a gem. We stopped by just before they closed and Michelle, the tour guide, took us on the tour.

She was very informative and gave us a snapshot of life at a tavern during Colonial times. We looked at a couple of rooms that would have been used by traveling men and a room that ladies would have used. The highlight of the tour was the ball room that is located just above the dining area. It was the site of Thomas Jefferson's inaugural ball. Note the small baloncy where the musicians played and the tiny door leading to it. There are no steps to the door so a ladder would have been used to reach it.

The tour is a bargain at $5 per person!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadsby's Tavern Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.