We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
134 N. Royal Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-746-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Kingwood, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The was a great place for food and a fun time with fine dining. We enjoyed a night with our family and felt very comfortable. The history of the place is very interesting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely small museum with loads of Southern hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Gadsby's has done a great job of maintaining their space in Old Town, adding historical flavor and demonstrating tavern life old and new.

The museum and restaurant operate as two entities, so you'll need to reserve at both if you want to make two stops. We ate lunch in the private room at the restaurant with our group of 12. We enjoyed our tasty pre-fixe meal. After visiting the 'neccessary,' we walked next door to the museum. Michelle handled our group of boys perfectly. She kept them engaged, entertained and informed. She led a game at the end of the tour that could have gone on for hours. Definitely recommend a visit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dinner at Gadsby's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had dinner recently at Gadsby's. The food was excellent and the decor is different to say the least. You have to see it to understand. Moderately priced and conveniently located in Old Town, Alexandria.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Gadsby's staff made our visit to the tavern most enjoyable.
The food was great and reasonably priced. There was no rush to have us leave and this added to a most relaxing lunch.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So Much to See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent tour. There was so much to see from long ago. Everything was beautifully restored, and the building was in great condition.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadsby's Tavern Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.