We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect: can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
10273 Rockfish Valley Highway, Afton, VA 22920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Afton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Central New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect: can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

From the time that Orquida welcomed us to their 166 year old B & B until the time we left we had the perfect stay. Orquida welcomed us and showed us around the house, which is very pleasant. The house is spotlessly clean, and extraordinarily maintained given its age.
Recommendations for restaurants were spot on, and suggestions for local attractions, including Monticello, wineries, etc., were also greatly appreciated.
Breakfasts were delightful, and prepared with care.
Perhaps best off all, for us, was an unlikely event: heavy rain the second day of our trip caused us to come back early and "hang out". After a few days of heavy travel and sightseeing, this was a much needed respite, and the Afton Mountain B&B was perfect for just settling in and enjoying the peace and quiet.
The Afton Mountain B&B is conveniently located to the Southern terminus of the Skyline drive, and to the Northern end of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Monticello is about a half hour away, so this was a convenient and delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    40
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
126
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife & I reserved a room at Afton Mtn B&B because it was one of only several B&Bs we could find between the end of the Skyline Drive and the beginning of the Blue Ridge Parkway, and at the time it was the only B&B with a room available. We became immediately comfortable with our somewhat uninformed choice after meeting our hostess, Orquida. The house, its grounds and location, will immediately take you back to a much simpler time and lifestyle.

My wife & I seem to have been very lucky with our choices of B&Bs during this particular "Oregon or Bust" road trip, and Afton Mountain is a case in point. We were somewhat sad that we were on a schedule to leave the next morning. Our next road trip will likely include stays of several days, and Afton Mountain will be a likely choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Orquida and Dan were wonderful hosts. They were so friendly and welcoming. My boyfriend and I love food. The two course breakfast each morning was the perfect start to our relaxing days. The inn is quiet and centrally located so its really easy to get wherever you want to go. The rooms are beautiful and really well maintained. The view of the property was stunning and it was a nice romantic getaway weekend. Certainly all that you want from B&B experience

Room Tip: Call to see if they have a room even if they look fully booked. There are only 4 rooms so it does f...
See more room tips
Green Features: They compost! I loved that fact! You just leave your dishes out and they do the rest.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Orquida and Dan made our stay absolutely perfect! This B&B is immaculately clean and they have literally thought of everything you could possibly need. Our gluten-free breakfasts were amazing (complete with g-free banana bread!) and the room was incredibly comfortable and quiet, even on the main floor. We will return soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I had an absolutely fabulous time here. Orquida and Dan, who run the inn, are extremely nice and responsive. The house and our room were in impeccable condition. And the breakfast each morning was delicious. All in all, the perfect bed and breakfast experience!

Room Tip: The Looking Glass room was a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I came here for a relaxing break on a long weekend. The B&B is a cute house off the main highway, so it's really easy to drive anywhere you need to go. The rooms were really nice. We had the Mornington, which is the biggest with a large jet bath tub. It was a great room to stay in. The breakfast was DELICIOUS and gourmet. We had plenty of coffee, juice, fruit parfaits, muffins, and the amazing main course which varied (rolled omelets one day and waffles the next). This food was not run of the mill; it was gourmet and delicious. You should come just for the breakfast. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, water, sodas, and (in the evening) delicious homemade cookies were available.

In terms of amenities of the house, there is free, fast wifi, a communal computer, and a communal TV. The bedrooms do not have TVs, but that just added to the whole experience. Every bedroom has its own bathroom (no shared bathrooms!). Some of the rooms had a sink in the bedroom (outside the bathroom), but our room didn't. The dining room is a more intimate setting where you sit and chat with the other guests; otherwise, you never have to see the other guests if you don't want to.

The couple who runs the place is fantastic, very accommodating, and knowledgeable about activities and restaurants in the area. The house has beautiful architectural elements that make it very charming. The location was good in that it was a beautiful setting and there were a couple of restaurants and wineries within a 10 minute drive. You have to drive about 30 minutes or more to get to really good wineries and longer to get to Charlottesville and Monticello. The local cuisine for dinner can get a bit old, so I recommend driving a little bit more to visit some other restaurants.

All in all, it was a great stay! One of the best B&Bs I've stayed in.

Green Features: They seem to be very environmentally friendly. They had a spot for us to put recyclable materials for them to dispose of properly. They did not use disposable cups, plates, etc.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The house is very well maintained and the hospitality and attentiveness of the owners is exceptional. We enjoyed our 18th anniversary in this very lovely home. The breakfast was delectable and the amenities were simply perfect. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10273 Rockfish Valley Highway, Afton, VA 22920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Orquida and Dan Ingraham welcome you to their 1848 Victorian farmhouse in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, featuring numerous antiques, original heart pine floors and staircase, and a stained-glass entrance way. All 5 guest rooms offer private baths, air conditioning, and luxurious beds for your maximum comfort. In the morning, you'll wake to enjoy a delicious breakfast, beginning with homemade baked goods, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juices, and topped off by one of our entree specialties. After a day of sightseeing on Skyline Drive or the Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, or wine tasting, take a relaxing swim in our pool, enjoy some fresh-baked cookies and a beverage, or catch up on your reading on one of our large porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Mountain Hotel Afton
Afton Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.