We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice wines, some exceptional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse at Veritas Winery

Farmhouse at Veritas Winery
7 Saddlebrook Farm, Afton, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Afton
Cuisines: Eclectic
Restaurant details
West Point, Virginia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice wines, some exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Beautiful facility, mostly helpful people. Really liked their high end wines and sparklers. Samples were a bit on the small side - tough to get full mouth feel from really small samples. Liked it enough to buy a case plus some. Will return for more.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland suburb of DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lots of good wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

One of the Nelson 151 stops. We liked almost everything we tried there. Split a tasting, as we did most places, so that whomever liked a sample most got the last sip and someone was still able to legally drive.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Get-away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Farmhouse and found it to be everything we needed and wanted for a quiet, peaceful get-away. The house itself is beautiful; historic but with all modern conveniences. Our room was beautifully decorated. There was a small screened-in porch outside our room where we enjoyed coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening overlooking part of the vineyard. It was a stunning view. We also enjoyed the food! We had the Ploughman's Supper our first night and the four course dinner our second night. Both were excellent! The breakfasts were delicious also. We hope to return when we get the chance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Worth eating here. We had both the ploughman's supper and the multiple course meal. The food and wine pairings were fantastic!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We've had two outstanding dinners at the Farmhouse - one post-Thanksgiving and one post-Christmas. We thoroughly enjoyed both. They were elegant without being overbearing and lost in formality. Not to mention that having the wine with good food adapted to the drink is an experience in and of itself. We will certainly go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhouse at Veritas Winery also viewed

 

Been to Farmhouse at Veritas Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse at Veritas Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.