We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great couples weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Afton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
27 Chapel Hollow Rd, Afton, VA 22920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Afton B&B and Inns
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great couples weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here last weekend in the Mankin Cottage, and highly recommend! It was private and cozy. There is a wine tasting room right on the property, and several within 10 miles, so the location is great. Breakfasts were excellent, and the hosts were very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Marcel and Danielle are such wonderful hosts, and the B & B is delightful. The rooms are large and very well-kept, and personalized attention was given since the B&B doesn't hold too many guests. The breakfast is possibly the best breakfast I've ever had: homemade yogurt, vegetable quiche, amazing french toast with turkey bacon, and tons of fruit and juice. The location is great, in a quiet neighborhood but still very close to vineyards, restaurants, and hiking/driving trails. We would definitely love to come back soon and highly recommend Le Bleu Ridge! Thank you Danielle and Marcel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I just spent a weekend at Le Bleu Ridge while traveling to Charlottesville for a friend's wedding. Le Bleu Ridge was the perfect stay. The farmhouse is a standout among many local B&Bs, restored with a fresh modern taste while still maintaining it's quaint look. The rooms are spacious, the linens are organic, the decor is thoughtful, and our multi-spout rain shower was a treat. Danielle and Marcel are perfect hosts -- polite, energetic and elegant. Danielle's organic three course breakfasts are incredible, and we enjoyed plenty of good conversation and laughs at the breakfast table with their other 4 guests. The B&B is close to several great day trips -- next door to Flying Fox winery tasting room, and down the street from Veritas Winery, Blue Mountain brewery, and some great local hikes like Humpback Mountain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and i just spent our 10th anniversary here and had a wonderful stay.

Marcel and Danielle are exceptional hosts.

The B & B is quaint and very much feels as though you are in an old farmhouse staying as a guest of honor.

The breakfasts are fabulous. 3 courses - with a dessert....need i say more.

A really great stay and we would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for homely experience in a beautiful part of Virginia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Marcel and Danielle are personable and thoughtful hosts. They provide many little extras most B&Bs don't such as a flashlight on the mantle, a second folding luggage rack, lots of spare towels, a bathroom night light and plenty of toiletries. There's a ramp up to the front door and our first floor room had a huge roll-in shower. The custom breakfast was both filling and gourmet. The B&Bs setting was pastoral and certain to lower your BP by 20 points.

For dinner, try Guiseppe's just five miles down the road for above average Italian food at very reasonable prices. Wine and beer available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Le Bleu Ridge B&B. Danielle and Marcel are such warm and wonderful people and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was lovely, and the bed was so comfortable, with soft bedding, great pillows and sheets. The rain shower was such a welcome relief after attending a music festival all day! Breakfast's were amazing. Danielle is such a wonderful cook! If you stay here, resist all urges to stay in bed and miss it, you will be missing out on the most amazing meal! We also met some very lovely people who were also staying there, and by the end of the weekend, we felt we had made some new friends, were well rested, and very happy we chose to stay here! I would highly recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at B&B's from Ashville, Chincoteague, Somerset (PA), amongst other locations so are pretty experienced at B&B'ers. Le Bleu Ridge was very nice with wonderfully friendly and accommodating hosts who aim to please. We had the Blue Moon Room on 1st floor, adjacent to dining area and living room. Danielle prepared very fresh, creative, and great breakfasts from local fruits and vegetables. She also went out of her way to secure soy or almond milk as my husband is lactose intolerant. We really appreciated her being so flexible. Bed was wonderfully soft and comfy. Rooms were very clean. The giant shower head in Blue Moon's bathroom is quite unforgettable! Now I want a shower head like that in my own house! It is a very relaxing, pleasant stay at a nice B&B in a beautiful part of Virginia. If you go, I highly recommend staying here. But do be aware the inn is located at intersection of Route 151 & Chapel Hollow. So if you are a light sleeper, you will notice traffic passing by (even though in nighttime there isn't a lot). Also in living room, although there is Dish network, we couldn't find any movies to entertain at night. So maybe bring your own DVD's or games. There are lots & lots of books & CD's to enjoy on the house.

Room Tip: Blue Moon room is very nice. Huge shower head in bathroom plus other jets, plus a fireplace for cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Chapel Hollow Rd, Afton, VA 22920
Location: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will be delighted to welcome you at Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast: “Your Healthy Homey Hospitality in the Virginian Blue Ridge Mountains”. We offer organic and comfy beds in the cute Mankin House cottage, the romantic Blue Moon Room, or the Sunset Room, and delicious breakfasts made with fresh, organic local and seasonal ingredients. Our holistic approach extends to all elements surrounding our guests’ stay: whether it is the mattress you dream in, the wood floor you walk on, the water you drink, etc. We cater to everyone, but we distinguish ourselves in our ability to accommodate guests with special dietary needs, such as diabetes, gluten allergies, food and environmental sensitivities. Le Bleu Ridge is located inside the former Page House Estate, 1840, on the Nelson County 151 trail in Nelson County. Our neighbors include The Flying Fox Tasting Room, wineries, breweries, local restaurants, and local farmers. Virginia is for Lovers… Le Bleu Ridge is where they sleep! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.